Home » Uncategorized » Reason Número Dos- Prolactin?

Reason Número Dos- Prolactin?

Prolactin is a hormone produced by the pituitary in pregnant women. My levels were six times the normal levels for women in the follicular phase of their menstrual cycle.

The endocrinologist, whom I will refer to as Dr. Glasses from now on, asked me if I was epileptic or had a family history of it. (No.) She then asked if I was sure I hadn’t been pregnant in the spring. She asked me this on three separate occasions during our visit, the last time, shaking her head in frustration. She asked how I was sure, and if I had a pregnancy test done. I didn’t really think much of it until I got in the car, when I had my “Aha!” moment.

Many moons ago, I had mentioned to DW how that first insem we did at home felt so different, and that I wonder if we might have had implantation but my uterine lining shed too early (I have a luteal phase defect- super short- like normally 8-10 days). The reason I suspected this is because every BFN TWW, I have felt the same, except for that first insemination at home. That time, I had horribly sensitive breasts (I never get this at all- even during the days before my period, and not during any other TWW).

When I took these two pieces of info and cross referenced with my bloodwork history, I see that during our first IUI (at home), I didn’t get AF until 19 days post IUI (19DPIUI). Even on progesterone suppositories, I only made it to 12DPIUI before breakthrough bleeding occurred. I think because it was our first time, I didn’t think it was weird for it to be so long.

Either way, I was very sad to think that perhaps we might have had a chemical pregnancy.

My prolactin had only been elevated the month after that, and has been somewhat within the normal range since then.

Leave a Reply

