Home » Uncategorized » Number 18

Number 18

It’s Monday morning, and I got up early to make it to Laboratory Services before they open to have my blood drawn for Anxious Endocrinologist. I had an appointment with her this past Saturday, wherein I explained that:

1. DW had suffered two losses
2. I was now going to be the host
3. I stopped taking the levothyroxine meds for two weeks while I thought DW was pregnant for good this last time.
4. I was back on the pregVit

It was a longer appointment, as she anxiously explained that going off the Synthroid may have thrown my thyroid levels off and that it takes 4-6 weeks for them to stabilize again. She recommended against doing an FET until she had cleared me first. She wants to check my TSH, free T3, free T4, anti-TG antibodies and anti-TPO antibodies today, then every 4 weeks until they show stabilization at the preferable levels.

I asked her if it would be okay to proceed with the FET if today’s blood draw demonstrated good levels. She said we’ll see.

This means more waiting in a frustrating phase of already waiting so long. I know that regret doesn’t make any of this better, but I wish that we had started baby-making years ago. This whole process is slowly killing my optimism. My entire life has been pushed aside because events have been dictated by + OPKs, blood draws, doctors appointments, fertility procedures… etc.

You know it’s bad when the biggest thing I’m looking forward to this month is getting the results of this blood test. The 2nd thing is obviously the end of the school year.

Anyway, here’s a picture of me, sitting in the waiting room of the blood lab. I arrived before they opened, hoping to be first in line so that I could make it to work on time. Sadly, when I arrived, there were 17 (sick) people in front of me.

Needless to say, I used a lot of hand sanitizer on my way out. More to come…

20140609-170737-61657357.jpg

4 thoughts on “Number 18

  1. That’s a big step that you will now be the carrier. I sure this was a tough decision for you and your wife. I hope the results are good. My RE put me on Synthroid last October; it’s hard to go off of. Good luck!

    • Thanks. It was. We only have 2 good and 1 not so good blastocysts left so we figured it was worth changing it up. How long did it take for your levels to stabilize on the Synthroid? I’m so anxious to just get on with the FET asap, regardless of how appropriate my dose of Synthroid is, but know that it would also be wasteful. It’s such a hard decision *sigh*

      • Hopefully 2 blastocysts is enough. I have no idea how long it took because I started taking it in October but then we put the fertility idea away for a few months so was lazy about getting bloodwork re-done. When I finally did get another blood test my TSH was still a little too high for pregnancy – 2.8 I think and they want it below 2.5 – so my fertility doctor increased it a little. I had high levels even before I was trying to get pregnant but I tried to improve them with whole foods diet. It wasn’t enough for pregnancy.

        I’m looking forward to your next FET. I’m sure you just want to get on with it!

Leave a Reply

