Home » Uncategorized » Ahhh Symptoms

Ahhh Symptoms

Tomorrow I will be 6 weeks along. Last night the pregnancy sickness started. We were on our way home from our ball hockey banquet when I started dry heaving in the car. I rolled down the windows and with every ounce of will power tried to focus on not puking. But all I could smell was the pungent strength of a teammate’s cologne on my clothes, the mint gum DW was chewing, and my smelly feet (I wore shoes without socks- gross, I know, but I’m so hot these days). I clutched the free water bottle that we won for coming in first place, as a backup vomit catcher.

Morning pregnancy sickness has officially begun.

In other news, for the past three days I have been struggling with the symptoms of a UTI: waking up every hour to pee, bladder feels tingly and achy, tingles to pee, etc. We finally went to visit my family doctor (who is awesome) today, and had some urinalysis done. Apparently my pee is pretty clear, though there is some blood, which is just a sign of irritation. She wrote me a prescription for Macrobid, which is safe during pregnancy, and is having the urine cultured to see what grows. If my symptoms worsen, I will take the antibiotics.

She also wrote me a prescription for diclectin, which is for morning sickness. Depending on how bad the nausea is, I may or may not begin taking it.

Our 6 week ultrasound is on Thursday. Can’t wait to share the results with you.

16 thoughts on “Ahhh Symptoms

  1. Your description of that wave of nausea was so thorough that I feel like I was there with you. πŸ™‚ I hope the sickness is reasonable and doesn’t give you any more than you can handle.

  2. I’m sorry about the pregnancy sickness, and also happy you’re having it! Ugh, it feels awful. I felt like I had the flu throughout every day. I hope it passes quickly (as quickly as six more weeks can go)!

    • Thank you! I know eh? I am a scent-free person, so when I smell perfumes or colognes, it feels like I’m being suffocated lol. Can’t wait for another update from you!

  3. Aw, you poor thing. The first trimester is rough. For me, the perpetual exhaustion was far worse than the “morning” sickness. But your nausea sounds entirely unpleasant! I’m glad to hear you got a prescription in case you need it.

    • Thanks. The sickness only hits me once a day, and doesn’t last very long. The exhaustion has been bad though. I’ve been needing naps every afternoon, and when I say “nap” I mean a 2-3 hour sleep!

  4. Ok, boo to the UTI, I know how much they suck! But yay for sickness! I know it sounds crappy, but I think it’s a good sign! Looking forward to an update after your appointment. Really, so thrilled for you 2!

Leave a Reply

