Home » Gluten-Free Recipes » The Best Gluten-Free Muffin Recipe

The Best Gluten-Free Muffin Recipe

Hello folks. I’ve decided to interrupt my week of miscarriage posts with a lovely muffin recipe that just won’t quit. Seriously, I’ve made it twice in three days because it produced the most delicious muffins that I have ever tasted. And yes, that also means that between the two of us, we’ve polished off almost two dozen muffins in three days.

So I’m sharing in case any of you would like to join in the gluttony, or enjoy in gluten-free treats that don’t taste like cardboard or cost loads of money.

Muffins, seem to be one of the things I miss most about my pre-diagnosis days. Specialty bake shops often have really obscure flavours, such as sweet potato strawberry pumpkin seed, or zucchini jalapeño chocolate chip. I’m always disappointed because all I want is a simple berry muffin, or a chocolate chip muffin, and if I do happen to find some, they are dry, or simply suck. Also, I am not vegan, and many gluten free bake shops seem to boast being gluten-free, egg-free, dairy-free, which I get, but butter makes such a big difference in the flavour of food.

So here’s the recipe: http://www.agirldefloured.com/2012/05/16/best-gluten-free-blueberry-muffins/

I recommend that you use the flour blend that she provides, as it produced a texture indistinguishable from wheat cake flour.

Our first batch was a mixed berry blend: raspberries, blackberries, blueberries.

And our second batch was pure wild blueberry. Here are some pictures of this batch. They are nearly half gone!

IMG_0118.JPG

IMG_0116.JPG

Give ’em a try, and let me know how it goes!

27 thoughts on “The Best Gluten-Free Muffin Recipe

  1. Thank you for posting this! I’m so glad you’re finding comfort somewhere, and if muffins are it, fantastic. They look amazing! Your description of the obscure flavors made me burst out laughing, too. Hope all is going okay.

    • Thanks. Yeah, the obscure flavours are pretty entertaining. Things are going okay. I’m waiting for the bulk of bleeding to happen still, as all I’ve had is start and stop spotting mostly. I’ve got a D and C scheduled for Thursday, as a back-up plan.

      • That sounds rough. The waiting is so hard. I know I’ve already said this (sorry), but after two rounds of cytotec I still needed D and C. Everyone is different. It’s good that you have the appt if you need it though. Good luck and sending a hug.

      • Thanks. Yes, I remembered your experience and decided to skip the Cytotec all together. My RE said that pregnancies 8 weeks + usually require a D and C anyway. When do you girls leave for your trip? I’m so excited for you!

      • You were very open to suggestions and I’m glad for you that you’re doing what you need. I wish this didn’t happen to you, or to anyone, but it seems like you’re being strong and taking care of yourself.

        We’re leaving September 25 and I’m so excited! We’re working so hard lately and it’ll all be worth it.

      • Yes, I agree. Front loading the work allows you to relax a little more on vacation. Yeah, I guess for my first actual miscarriage (as opposed to 3rd family miscarriage), I am dealing okay. DW has been really supportive, allowing me to have my “moments”, and coddling me when I need it. You all have been super supportive too- especially in sharing your experiences with me. None of us should ever have to experience this. It is cruel and unfair. There are parts that I’m still avoiding dealing with too- like the implications of these 6 out of 6 embryos not working out- as the egg donor, is there something wrong with me? I think I will start dealing with this once I’ve passed these products of conception. One day at a time, one day at a time.

      • Finally putting the miscarriage behind you physically will help a lot. You’re beginning to deal with the embryo issue just by acknowledging it here. Yes, WP community is so supportive. I didn’t start my blog to meet people for support in dealing with TTC issues, but it’s definitely ended up being a primary place of comfort. Glad DW has been so wonderful; your family will grow from this in more ways than one.

  2. Pingback: #100happydays – Days 64 Through 70 | My Perfect Breakdown

  3. Pingback: #100happydays – Days 71 Through 77 | My Perfect Breakdown

Leave a Reply

