Home » in between time » Fresh New Cycle and Fertility Clinic Frustrations

Fresh New Cycle and Fertility Clinic Frustrations

So yesterday I started my first period since the D&C. It took 26 days for it to begin, and so far it’s been pain-free.

Yesterday the bleeding was light, and today it has been heavy but without cramping. Most of my periods prior to TTC have been pain free, and it wasn’t until starting all of the fertility drugs that I started to have more painful periods. So, so far, this feels cleansing.
I am excited to see how my BBT looks for this upcoming cycle, because my post D&C BBT was wonky. I had some egg white cervical mucus for two days, which indicates that I maybe ovulated, but my luteal phase was only 6 days, and there was not a distinctive temperature shift. My body temperature was also really low, which was weird. This cycle has already started off 0.5 degrees Celsius warmer.

On the weekend we celebrated Canadian Thanksgiving with my in-laws at the cottage. We started the process of closing the cottage for the winter, bringing in the dock, clearing out the fridge. The whole family stayed overnight, and we got to spend a lot of time with our niece and nephew.

One afternoon, I was playing with our 8 year old niece, when she pulled out this book:

IMG_5169.GIF

I asked if she wanted to read it to me (to practice her reading out loud), but she didn’t. She wanted me to read it to her. I took a breath, braced myself, and started reading. She cuddled into me, and at one point, I started to well up with tears. The words seemed to hit a chord, and I thought that I could not continue. I took another deep breath, put on a smile, and continued on without her even noticing.

IMG_5168.JPG

That night, I couldn’t sleep. I started reading Ann-Marie MacDonald’s new book, Adult Onset, which really was not a good thing for me to begin, given that there are a lot of flashbacks to the main character’s mother’s multiple miscarriages/stillbirths. In bed, I started crying, then fully weeping, while DW pulled me into her chest. I didn’t sleep at all Thanksgiving night.

In other news, I’ve started the process of cleaning out our garden. The weather has been warmer than expected, so the soil is easier to work. Today, I pulled up all of our rainbow carrots, beets, and harvested some brussel sprouts.

IMG_5172.JPG

I roasted some with maple syrup, and they were delicious.

IMG_5174.JPG

Lastly, I wanted to share my frustration with our fertility clinic. I emailed my primary nurse almost two weeks ago about getting the immune blood panel done, then emailed her again a few days ago, and then called and left a voicemail today, and she still hasn’t gotten back to me. DWS emailed her at the same time two weeks ago, and she got a reply. I’m not sure why, but it seems like she is avoiding me. It is super frustrating for me because I’m anticipating my next cycle to be in about 4 weeks, and want the immune results to come back before we transfer the last embryo. Yes, we plan to transfer the last embryo probably sometime in December. I just want to rule out any issues with staying pregnant, so that we maximize our chances with this last embryo. I don’t know why our nurse won’t get back to me with a yes or no from the RE. It is super frustrating.

Anyways, new cycle, new beginnings.

11 thoughts on “Fresh New Cycle and Fertility Clinic Frustrations

  1. Oh my, those carrots look delicious! Just maple syrup, carrots and beats? If so, I’ll be making this to go with our steak tonight. 🙂
    As for fertility clinics, I get your frustrations. I had a call from a nurse at my local clinic, returning a call regarding my request for test results. That phone call, and there refusal to give me MY test results sent me into a giant ball of tears and snot (gross, I know – nothing about it was pretty). It just brought up how badly we’ve been treated and just how badly our care has been. My honest thought for you right now, if you aren’t happy with them, find another clinic if at all possible – don’t waste your next transfer. Find your answers first so that you can put your best food forward. I now firmly believe there are answers and solutions out there, you just might have to dig (and in my case become insanely wealthy).
    Sending you so much love, and hoping you get the answers so that you can move forward in December as planned!! 🙂

  2. Not sure how into natural stuff you are, but my naturopath likes my temps warm if possible and has prescribed the following delicious remedy for pre-conception care…(as you are coming into fall I think it should be good!). Take a cinnamon quill or two, add a fresh (if possible) bay leaf, one or two cardamom pods and a big chunk of fresh ginger root – approx 2 inch x 1 inch (give it a couple of good whacks with a hammer or something before adding so it’s a little crushed). Cover with water (I use a small pot and half fill usually), bring to the boil then simmer. The wife and I (who has PCOS so also needs to keep her insides warm to help with periods), drink it instead of tea. It should last for a good few days if you keep topping it up with fresh water, discord once the tea doesn’t have a decent (brown) colour. It’s really yummy.

  3. Mary loves that book…we read it pretty often, but we always say any of the other animals could be the birdies foster mother because all you need is love, but the crane, NO WAY! LOL! Those veggies look awesome…i think that is the thing i hate the most about living in an apartment. We don’t get to garden, but we do some gardening at my parents which is nice. Hope that clinic gets back to you sooner than later! You really don’t have much time to dilly dally. Hope it all works out well.

    • Thanks, I agree. And you’re right- all you need is love. Gardening is wonderful- if you have time. We have been so busy this summer that some of our garden hasn’t done so well.

Leave a Reply

