Home » Gluten-Free Recipes » Gluten-Free Banana Bread

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

It’s getting chillier around here, and since it’s also damp, I definitely feel it in my bones. The leaves have changed, and the ones that have fallen are starting to get all mushed up. I’ve been admiring the beautiful colours and characteristic shapes of all the leaves. I think oak leaves might be my favourite.

Yesterday, we were tidying up the kitchen, and DW brought to my attention a very overripe banana that needed to either “get used or get chucked” (this is her gentle reminder for me to declutter as chaos levels approach threshold levels). One banana isn’t quite enough to make bread with, but we keep a stash of banana chunks in the freezer (for shakes and smoothies), so I microwaved a couple of those, and made banana bread.

It’s been a few weeks since I had baked us any goodies, as I was noticing that treats don’t last very long in our house because we gobble them up so fast! But it was a dark and chilly day Friday, and my poor lover had a full day principal training class to attend the next day, so it felt appropriate for me to make us something special.

Here’s the thing though- I don’t like chocolate (strange I know), and DW doesn’t like walnuts, so this loaf of banana bread had hers and hers sections.

IMG_0364.JPG

It baked up real nice in my silicone loaf pan- no sticking at all, and the loaf basically slid right out with little coaxing.

IMG_0367.JPG

The texture was perfect. It was moist on the inside, and just a bit crisp in the crust.

IMG_0369.JPG

We went wild apple picking in the conservation area that we take the dogs, and made cinnamon applesauce last year. It’s sat in the freezer for far too long, and was finally incorporated into this banana bread.

For the oil, I used a mild-tasting olive oil, and for the eggs, I used omega-3 eggs. Finally, I mixed in a quarter cup of bittersweet chocolate chips for DW’s side, and a similar amount of chopped walnuts for my side.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread from Taste of Home

Ingredients
2 cups gluten-free all-purpose baking flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 eggs
2 cups mashed ripe bananas (4-5 medium)
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/3 cup canola oil
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions
In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. In a small
bowl, whisk the eggs, bananas, sugar, applesauce, oil and vanilla.
Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.

Transfer to two 8-in. x 4-in. loaf pans coated with cooking spray.
Sprinkle with walnuts. Bake at 350° for 45-55 minutes or until a
toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10
minutes before removing from pans to wire racks. Yield: 2 loaves (12
slices each).

Nutritional Facts: 1 slice equals 140 calories, 6 g fat (1 g saturated fat), 35 mg cholesterol, 89 mg sodium, 21 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber,

The recipe is from: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/gluten-free-banana-bread/print

24 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Banana Bread

  1. Damn you, always posting glorious recipes when I’m trying not to eat too many carbs! I love the hers and hers sides, so awesome. I want a combo of walnut AND chocolate please!

  2. Mmmm! Great idea for the hers & hers! We love walnuts & chocolate do I don’t know why I’ve never made something like that. I will soon! I make a similar recipe for my daughter as breakfast muffins, but it’s egg free, uses coconut oil and a higher banana & apple sauce ratio so I can completely nix sugar. She’s a ball of energy without any sugar in her diet; I’d be scared to see her on it.

  3. Thank goodness I hate bananas. If I didn’t I would eat both halves – it looks amazing! So kind of you to share your recipes. I planned to try the muffin one you posted a little while ago this weekend actually.

  4. Pingback: Picking Up the Pieces | My Perfect Breakdown

  5. I might need to thaw some bananas and make some bread, that looks delicious. I definitely prefer walnuts to chocolate and my wife is the opposite so I might split it like that, so cute.

Leave a Reply

