Home » Gluten-Free Recipes » Insomnia Sucks, And Cooking Fails

Insomnia Sucks, And Cooking Fails

It has been over a week now, of the worst insomnia that I’ve ever had. I go to bed with DW at a reasonable time, but can’t seem to fall asleep without the help of 3mg of melatonin. If I take the melatonin, I fall asleep only for 3 hours, and then wake up and can’t fall back asleep. If I don’t take the melatonin, I lay in bed, frustrated, only to fall asleep at about 5:30am for 3 hours.

My sleep routine is good. I have a glass of Natural Calm (magnesium) drink after dinner. I am not consuming any caffeine all day. I get in some good exercise in the morning or afternoon. I load my carbs during my evening meal to increase serotonin. I’m putting away my phone an hour before sleeping. Our bedroom is dark, cool, and there are no dogs sleeping with us. I have tried guided meditation, which only sometimes works to get me asleep, but again, I wake up three hours later. I have also done some acupuncture treatments on myself to strengthen my lung meridian, as it is closely related to anxiety when deficient.

But, I’m still not sleeping.

I have also noticed, that I am more prone to insomnia and sleep disturbances when in my follicular phase. The progesterone floating around during my luteal phase makes for better sleeps. Although, there were several nights during my pregnancy when sleep was hard to come by.

Anyhow, if it doesn’t improve this week, I don’t know what I’m going to do. I can’t go on any medication- as most are not pregnancy-friendly. Benedryl and related over-the-counter meds don’t seem to work on me. They actually give me jittery nerves for some reason.

All I can do is wait to ovulate, it seems.

The little dog also doesn’t like mornings. Here we are cuddling with our morning decaf tea:

IMG_5309.JPG

I have been craving cheese bread lately, and went on a mission to try out this recipe: http://www.ca.momtastic.com/food/380469-gluten-free-cheddar-bread-recipe/

It baked up real nice:

IMG_5304.JPG

And I let it cool for a good twenty minutes before cutting into it, but it had a terrible texture. It was far too gummy and dense, probably due to the tapioca flour.

IMG_5314.JPG

After forcing down two slices, I decided that it wasn’t worth it. I toasted it in the oven as crostini, and then as croutons. DW had some crostini with pumpkin soup for lunch today, so the terrible bread is getting eaten.

IMG_5318.JPG

It also snowed yesterday. In a panic, we harvested all of our red pepper plants. I have so many, I am thinking of giving some away to our neighbours, or donating them to DW’s school’s hospitality program that cooks for the cafeteria.

IMG_5317.JPG

IMG_5306.JPG

Other than that, nothing really to report. We are still waiting to find out the results of my immune and thrombophilia bloodwork, and for my period, which will probably be in two weeks or so.

There has been a lot of excitement here in the blogosphere. Marriages! Inseminations! BFPs! Heartbeats! I am so happy for all of you. As I anxiously wait for a proper sleep rhythm to return, I will be cheering all of you on!

23 thoughts on “Insomnia Sucks, And Cooking Fails

  1. When i have trouble sleeping I Youtube “Hypnotic Bedtime Stories” They have 1,2,5, and 8 hour ones. They are a MIRACLE! Believe me! The lady’s name is Jody Whitely. It’s similar to a meditation but before you know it, it’s 5 am, and you’ve been knocked out for 6 hours… And those peppers are beautiful!!!

  2. Yep that cheese bread looked amazing lol. Glad you could recycle it into something edible. I find ear plugs help me to sleep sometimes, maybe it’s the white noise kinda effect they produce. I also use relaxation meditations – in particular one that starts with your toes and sloooowly travels up your body telling you to relax each part. It’s simple but really effective and you can still be fidgeting with your hair or scratching your left arm while relaxing your knees, so by the time it gets up to your waist you are generally all fidgeted out and start to relax properly lol. I did with some of the other ones that if I’m all in my head and not doing the visualization properly I just give up. Good luck. PS – cute grumpy motioning dog photo.

  3. I’m so sorry you’re not sleeping. No sleep is misery. I have no suggestions but am sending you lots of zzzz’s!

  4. That cheese bread looks AMAZING!

    I had insomnia my entire pregnancy with Evelyn. I would fall asleep around 10-11 and wake up at 3 am, every day, without FAIL, and never get back to sleep. It sucked and I sobbed about it, often. I feel your pain and really feel bad for you. What I found would sometimes help for me is listening to binaural beats. Have you tried that yet? You’ve gotta use headphones or you won’t get the full effect.

  5. Ugh the insomnia sounds awful. Actually I have a lot of insomnia too, often for no emotional or physical reason I can think of. It’s horrible. I also sometimes realize that I’m okay when I’m not sleeping much though, like the world doesn’t end and I somehow keep on functioning. Maybe you’re just thinking about work and pregnancy? I hope you start sleeping soon. And snow! So jealous. Thanks for all your support, you’re a good WP friend!

  6. The kind of disrupted sleep you describe is a lifelong problem for me. I’ve been having the same problem for a couple of weeks. It’s exhausting. I’m so sorry you’re going through that. You know that 3-5 am is the lung meridian or organ system, which is associated with grieving and immune system as well, right? My waking time used to always be liver (1-3 am) but now I oscillate between gall bladder, liver and lung so I don’t know what to think! I hope your sleep cycle normalizes very soon.

Leave a Reply

