Home » FET#4 » FET#4 CD1

FET#4 CD1

I was expecting my period at the end of the week, but was pleased to see it arrive this morning. Darn you short luteal phase (this cycle 10 days), but thank you for appealing to my impatience.

IMG_5350.PNG

Today, I start my Chinese herbals again, which dispels blood stasis from my womb, flushing it out with the natural shedding that is happening.

IMG_5351.JPG

Previous to TTC-ing, I rarely had painful periods. Even during my IUIs, I had only minimal cramps. When our RE started us on Marvelon (oral contraceptive) back in September of 2013 to sync our cycles in preparation for our reciprocal IVF, I have had painful periods ever since. Like screaming in agony painful. However, last cycle, I took this Chinese herb mixture, and had absolutely no pain during menstruation again. It was wonderful, and a good sign of uterine health.

This herb mixture is actually in concentrated granule form that has been extracted from the cooked raw herbs. I just add 5 scoops and two ounces of boiling water into a mug, stir it up, and voila! An earthy tasting tea! I do this 3 times a day, on an empty stomach, or before food.

Today, my first blood was a bright red blood, which is also really good. Old brown clots are a sign of stasis. It means that there may be some congestion in the uterus, which can be inhibiting good circulation.

So far, we’re off to a good start!

I’m in a bit of a mad rush, trying to get some appointments in before the embryo takes up residence. I need to replace a root canal filling that is cracking with a crown, and my insurance is being picky with my dentist, requiring more x-Rays etc. The whole process could take weeks, and since they will have to use local anaesthetic on me, I’d rather have it done before the transfer. Fingers crossed that it works out. I also need to get my eyes checked again, since my vision changed significantly from the pregnancy. They use medicated eye drops to dilate your pupils, which is also contraindicated during pregnancy, so I’m getting it done today, with a dear friend of mine who is the world’s most thorough optometrist. DW and I love him so much that we always comment (to each other) about how it’s too bad that he has so much cancer in his family (two siblings and his father), because we would’ve loved him as a donor. He has the kindest spirit, is very thoughtful and intelligent, and has amazing dimples!

Anyway, yesterday was a beautiful sunny and warm day, feeling like 20 degrees Celsius, and today is dark, windy, and super cold (feels like 0 degrees Celsius). It’s supposed to be like this for the rest of the winter. DW and I are planning on “winter camping” at our cottage this weekend. By “winter camping” I mean, staying in the cottage, which is not winterized, so the well has been turned off. This means no running water (we’ll bring some), and using the outhouse (which kind of terrifies me, as a non-camping city girl). It’s a very underused outhouse, and is super clean and odourless. I am always just so scared of falling in. I also hate how cold the seat is- can’t we just plug in a seat warmer? Or does that defeat the point of the great outdoors?

29 thoughts on “FET#4 CD1

  1. Hah. I have a great outhouse story for you. My SIL is a total city girl who married a total country boy. They live in Colorado, and my BIL’s family has about a thousand acres of land in the foothills of the Rockies. For a long time, the land just had a small cabin with no plumbing and a generator for electricity… and an outhouse. My SIL refused to stay at the cabin because she wouldn’t use the outhouse (esp in winter), so my BIL totally tricked out the outhouse. He hooked it up to a small generator and added heaters and lighting. It was the nicest outhouse I’ve ever seen. Totally hilarious… but it got her to spend time up there!

    All that aside, as you know, I am wishing you nothing but the best for this cycle!

Leave a Reply

