Home » Happiness Cycle » Happiness Cycle Day 2- Philip

Happiness Cycle Day 2- Philip

I’ve been a bit sentimental this morning, so my photo tribute today is to my grandfather, who was a member of the Flying Tigers, a volunteer group of American and Chinese pilots who protected China from the Japanese during World War II. My grandfather trained with the US Air Force, and learned English along the way.

I randomly came across a video today, about the Flying Tigers, and recognized the third man from the left- it was my grandfather, in his youth!

Here is a screen shot:

IMG_0511.PNG

I joined a Facebook group for the Flying Tigers, and had a chance to reminisce with others about how wonderful my grandfather was, and what a true hero him and all of those who go to war for us are.

I also found out that there is some huge Flying Tigers reunion happening today somewhere in the States. I’m sure my grandpa is attending in spirit.

Here are some more pictures of my grandfather, who raised me with the purest, most true, unconditional love that I have felt in my life.

IMG_0505.JPG

IMG_0508.JPG

IMG_0506.JPG

IMG_0507.JPG

Here is my grandma and grandpa’s wedding photo. Philip and Gloria. There was only one copy ever made. It was lost when they escaped Communist China, and was returned to them 30 years later, when they had already been in Canada, through a series of serendipitous events.

IMG_0490.JPG

Memories of them make me terribly sad, because I miss them, but their presence in my life was a source of great happiness. I am so grateful for this.

8 thoughts on “Happiness Cycle Day 2- Philip

  1. Grandparents are a gift. It sounds like yours were your special earth angels. You kinda look like your grandfather. I especially see you in that close-up of him…something in the smile. 🙂

  2. “To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die.”~Thomas Campbell

    This is a beautiful post…it gave me goosebumps to know that after all that time, their wedding photo was returned to them. your grandfather lives so hugely in your heart, and you can feel it, completely, in this post…a brave man indeed…

Leave a Reply

