Home » Happiness Cycle » Happiness Cycle Day 5- Books

Happiness Cycle Day 5- Books

I love to read in my spare time. I can usually tell within 5 pages whether I will enjoy a book or not. When I find a book I like, I binge read. Novels are usually devoured in two or three days. It is difficult to tear me away from the book, or to get me to focus my attention on anything else. I neglect things like household chores, feeding the dogs, reading is dangerous stuff!

I prefer real books over ebooks. I find it annoying to have to hold my heavy iPad or wait for the page turning delay on my eReader. Plus, DW bought me a Kobo back when their ebooks were under 10 dollars, and now I’ve seen their prices creep higher than their paperback counterparts. I also like the smell of paper and bindings. Some of you might find it gross, but I love the smell of old, yellow paged books too. I have a habit of pushing books I like on people, lending my own books out, and never getting them back. It sucks, because while I’m not a collector of things, I do like to keep books that I really enjoy. I need to get one of those stamps that says “This book belongs to the library of _______”, and develop a system for knowing who I’ve lent books out to. One of my favourite books, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is missing, and it really pisses me off.

Two books that I have read recently that I would recommend:

IMG_0512.PNG

IMG_0513.PNG

Gone Girl was made into a Ben Affleck movie, and I really want to see it, but I’d have to go by myself, as DW is basically busy with work until the middle of December (teachers are overworked</em). The movie closes on Thursday, so I need to make a decision soon.

In the meantime, what are some novels that you would recommend? I'm always up for a good read.

22 thoughts on “Happiness Cycle Day 5- Books

  1. Oh, I love this post – I am the exact same way, give me a real book, that smells like a book, and once I get into it, I wont stop reading until it’s finished!
    One of my absolute favourite books is Devil In The White City by Erik Larson. I also just read Orange Is The New Black, and really enjoyed it.

  2. One of the best smells are definitely books, I love The Night Circus and I enjoyed Gone Girl also. I can be pretty annoying with my books, I never lend them anymore, one of my biggest fears about having kids is that they will destroy everything or I will find dirty little fingerprints on my special editions *shudders* lol

  3. I have a total sensory relationship with my books! I love cracking open a book and inhaling the delicious papery goodness. Like you, I’m a binge reader, too. I succumbed to a kindle paper light last year due to a lot of work travel and not being able to carry multiple books on my carry on 😦 it was hard to give up my books!

    • Yes, ereaders are so handy for that! There’s something very special about opening up a hardcover, hearing that first “crack”, and taking a good whiff of that papery goodness!

  4. My wife could have wrote this post. She was violently nodding her head while I read it to her. 🙂

    I bought her a mini library system and only now does she feel comfortable lending books out again. She suggests The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison, The Secret History by Donna Tart, and The Ocean At The End Of The Lane by Neil Gaiman.

    The Silent Wife is comparable to Gone Girl. (She liked the movie but, as always, book was better. Worth the admission price though!)

  5. I used to be the same way with books: I would go on months-long binge reading sessions, even. Motherhood has severely impeded my ability to read a book from cover to cover, but I still read as much as I can, every night. But I have an e-reader! I noticed the same thing as you re: the prices, though. They used to be much cheaper than paperbacks and now they’re the same price or higher!

    • Yes, there were many moments when the dogs were neglected due to my reading tunnel. That definitely can’t happen with a baby or toddler! I’ve somewhat hit a compromise with buying books. If I can get it cheaper as a paperback, I buy it that way. Since I always share my books with friends/my MIL, I find paperbacks are easier for that too.

  6. Go see the movie!!! I never read the book but the lovely gals I went with had. It was well worth seeing in theatre.

    I’m a book gobbler if engrossing too. We have so much in common! On another note, I love that you’re covering all this new ground in your posts since starting your photo happiness experiment.

  7. Definitely go see Gone Girl – I don’t think it’s too scary to see alone, and good enough for the theater, esp after reading the book! I liked it better than I thought I would. Also, I recommend Gillian Flynn’s other two books, they’re creepier but really fun to read.

Leave a Reply

