Home » IVF#2 » Pre-Lupron Scan

Pre-Lupron Scan

And so it begins again. Welcome to 2015! I have a super long end-of-year review post in my drafts, but 2014 was such a sad year for us that I’ve decided not to post it.

In short, 2014 was the year of:
– IVF#1
– 4 embryo transfers (2 DW, 2 me)
– 3 miscarriages (5 weeks, 5 weeks, 7 weeks)
– indescribable work stress + clinical depression and anxiety = leave from work
– revealed immune issues (NK cytokines)

But we’ve resurfaced, a bit jaded but still hopeful, and with 2015 we welcome IVF#2.

Today is CD18 of my pre-IVF cycle, and I went for my pre-Lupron blood work and ultrasound this morning. I’m supposed to start Lupron on CD21, so I am guessing that this scan is to make sure that there are no cysts, and that I have ovulated by now…. Which according to my BBT, I have not.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/445/47789826/files/2015/01/img_5894.png
(I am a lazy BBT-taker)

At my appointment, I explored the different options with the nurse. Since I was not put on BCPs at the beginning of this cycle (I believe they can be over suppressing, but make predicting AF so much easier), I was allowed to cycle through naturally, and I usually ovulate on or after CD21, with a 10 day luteal phase after that. Now, if I truly have not ovulated, then I should be starting Provera at the same time as the Lupron, but if I have indeed ovulated, then I should just proceed with the Lupron alone.

The head nurse was supposed to check my blood work from earlier today and let me know if it suggests that I have already ovulated (higher progesterone levels), but I haven’t heard from her yet. She also doesn’t work weekends, so I worry that I won’t hear from her at all before Monday, which is when I am supposed to start the Lupron. Overall, it’s not a big deal because I can always start the Provera Monday night if needed, but I would just like to know ahead of time so that I can fill and pick up the prescription.

I have already spent an inordinate amount of time consulting with Dr. Google over this, and the risk of going on the Lupron without having ovulated is growing ovarian cysts, which can secrete estrogen and mess up the hormones that they are trying to tightly control in the first place. I am also prone to having ovarian cysts.

Anyways, I guess we wait. But yeah, things are starting again, and I’m excited for my Lupron start on Monday!

Otherwise, we have been keeping busy with fun and happy things. My mother came to visit from Vancouver, which was surprisingly very lovely. Having a nice big Christmas dinner with my mom and DW’s family was great too. Everyone gets along so well. Now that everyone has dispersed, my days seem a bit lonelier.

One of our life-long bucket list goals is to hike the entire length of the Bruce Trail, which is a 900 kilometre long path along the Niagara escarpment extending from Niagara to Tobermory, Ontario.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/445/47789826/files/2015/01/img_5896.gif
(Photo from: http://www.torontohiking.com/tohi/what-is-the-bruce-trail.html)

DW completed some of the Niagara section on her own during her teenage years, some of the Hamilton and Burlington sections during her rock climbing days, and we’ve completed four portions of the trail with the dogs since we met, two of which happened during this winter break.

Here are some photos from the Bruce:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/445/47789826/files/2015/01/img_5868.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/445/47789826/files/2015/01/img_5873.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/445/47789826/files/2015/01/img_5875.jpg

19 thoughts on “Pre-Lupron Scan

  1. I forgot you were a fellow Canadian! My hometown in Burlington even though I’m currently on the Prairies. I can’t answer any of your Lupron questions but I hope you get some answers soon!

    • As always, thank you for your ongoing support. Yes, I was surprised that the visit went so well. My mom is a very laid back person, but I worried that my type-A personality would get annoyed with her after a while. Luckily, I surprised myself and didn’t. DW is always amazing with my family.

    • Thank you! I value your support throughout our journey. You would love jogging with your dog through these trails! They are constantly changing in both terrain and natural geological features: cedar forests, pine forests, limestone, streams, cliffs, and so many beautiful views.

  2. This is such a great goal. I’ve been on this trail in Tobermory and love it. I spent a lot of time camping in Tobermory as a kid. Jeff and I make a point to go every year now.

  3. Best wishes for 2015! (Starting with this cycle!)
    What I’ve seen of the Bruce Trail is beautiful and though I’ve never been, the photos I’ve seen of Tobermory make it look like paradise. Definitely on our “to visit” list!

Leave a Reply

