Home » IVF#2 » Fertility Friend Was Right

Fertility Friend Was Right

Yesterday’s blood work confirmed what my BBT suggested- as of yesterday morning (CD18), I had not yet ovulated. I got a phone call this morning from the nurse that I should start Provera on Monday along with the Lupron, and that I will be taking the Provera for 7 days. After a few days of stopping, I should get my period, which will be CD1 of our actual stimulation cycle!

*TMI warning*
Last night, I discovered what must be some kind of cervical mucus plug. It came out while I was showering, and was a huge glob the size of my thumb. I experienced this on my last natural (meaning non-FET) cycle as well, and recorded it in Fertility Friend. Last time, it was followed by three days of copious amounts of EWCM and then ovulation. Fun times.

I haven’t been sleeping well, which also seems to be a recurring symptom that I’m noticing the week before ovulation. I can’t wait for the Provera, as I find that I sleep so much better during my luteal phase (or with lots of progesterone). I have become a progesterone junkie. I just love that shit.

For now, we’ve been keeping busy. DW has been chipping away at school work and marking, as well as taking the dogs on their regular hikes (she doesn’t get to take them as much during the school week, which is when I usually take them). I’ve been working through Jessie Hilgenberg’s Muscle Building Program, which is kicking my ass due to the sheer volume of exercises and reps. I’m used to doing reps in the range of 6-8, and 4 sets of 5-6 exercises, but her program includes a lot more reps (12-20) and more sets (4-5), and 6-7 exercises. It’s forcing me to take longer rest periods, which has me at the gym for almost 90 minutes for just weight lifting (previously, I would lift for 40 minutes and do cardio for 20 minutes). This doesn’t leave much time for cardio, which is fine because she doesn’t include much in this beginning phase of her Muscle Building Program. I’ve also jacked up my protein intake and incorporated more carbs back into my diet, which is different for me as well since I was previously on a low carb, moderate fat, moderate protein diet. I’m fighting against some hard-gaining genetics (and soon-to-be fertility drugs) though, so we will see what happens with all of this. My goal isn’t to lose weight, it is to pack on as much muscle as I can before the embryo transfer. Pregnancy made me so tired last time that I just know I won’t have the energy to do any heavy lifting.

16 thoughts on “Fertility Friend Was Right

  1. Your workout schedule is amazing. I wish i loved progesterone but i still wake up all night long so I’m glad you can get some happy effects from it! Can’t wait for your cycle to officially start.

    • Yeah, I am glad I have time to work out. When I was pregnant in August/September, I remember having a really hard time sleeping regardless of the progesterone supplementation. I hope your sleep improves. I too, can’t wait to get this party started!

Leave a Reply

