Home » IVF#2 » Provera, Diarrhea, and Waiting for AF

Provera, Diarrhea, and Waiting for AF

What a title eh?

Well, I finished my last dose of Provera on Saturday night. I was on a 10mg daily dose for 7 days, overlapping with Lupron. The Provera didn’t make me sleepy like the oral Prometrium usually does, which was disappointing (especially for the insomnia).

Some side effects that I did notice from the Provera were:
– constant back ache
– sore breasts toward the latter end of the week
– cramps roughly 12 hours after each dose, with the worst cramps from days 3-5, lasting 1-2 hours
– frequent urination at night- 3-4 times a night
– major constipation!

It’s hard to tease out what side effects were from the Lupron, but after consulting with the information sheet that came with my medication, as well as some IVF blogs, I think the following side effects are care of Lupron:
– super hungry (increases cell uptake of blood sugar and causes hypoglycaemia)
– insomnia
– mild headaches

For two days now, I’ve only been on the Lupron, and I’ve had the headaches. They aren’t bad, but have me retreating into the depths of a dark bedroom for a while.

As the Provera wears off, so has the constipation. Today, I have had frequent episodes of the runs. Fun times. Notice that I didn’t give you a TMI warning? (People who want babies should become desensitized to poop issues.) Diarrhea is a good thing though, as I would like my meals from three days ago to finally vacate my body. Diarrhea also means that my period is coming… Soon! *Fingers crossed* I can’t wait for CD1 and to start my stimulation drugs!

I have been tracking my BBT the past two days, so that I can get an idea of when to expect AF. Many women report not getting their period for up to two weeks after stopping Provera, so I’m a bit anxious about it. I’m super OCD about scheduling, so waiting for AF is pure torture for me. But my BBT has been hopeful, as this morning, my temperature dropped almost to half of the overall spike temperature. So I might start to bleed any day now. My withdrawal bleeds after Endometrin came three days later, so if I am consistent with that, I should get my period late tonight, or tomorrow.

2015/01/img_5960.png

For now, we wait.

29 thoughts on “Provera, Diarrhea, and Waiting for AF

  1. “I’m super OCD about scheduling, so waiting for AF is pure torture for me.” Yup – completely understand that!!! Hope you aren’t waiting too long x

    • In some ways I am too… To my own poop. But for some reason, I am so grossed out by dog poop. I’m not sure why that is. I know that in my field hockey days, I had stepped in a pile or two. Maybe it was enough to scar me for life.

  2. Ugh. I hated the Lupron headaches, which persisted despite my drinking heaps of water and attending extra acupuncture sessions (which helped the day of but not much beyond that). Wishing you all the best moving forward!

      • Yes, true. I actually really enjoyed the prednisone- though I was at a much lower dose than you,10mg daily. My digestive issues went away, my chronic joint pain went away. I felt so good. It has me thinking that maybe I need to see a rheumatologist.

      • Thanks. I expect that given how badly things have gone so far I will not be getting off of thr steroids anytime soon. Braverman even said this in our call on Tuesday, that if need be we will keep me on them even at or past 24 weeks and just monitor closely. Of course that is contingent on my OB – who I have not seen yet – will play ball. I dont know WTH I will do if not. I cannot be flying back and forth across the continent every few weeks into the third trimester. I cannot get over how stressed out I suddenly feel over all of this. The steroids make me so accelerated, I am sure that is not helping. 😦

Leave a Reply

