Home » IVF#2 » Honestly! Still Waiting for AF!

Honestly! Still Waiting for AF!

I consistently have 31-32 day cycles. Today is day 35. I finished a round of Provera about 8/9 days ago, which was supposed to bring on AF last week. My temps remain high, my nipples are super tender, my back hurts, and I’m super emotional.

This needs to end.
AF where are you??

I emailed the nurse on Friday, to ask how long we should be waiting for AF, and she said if I don’t get it by Monday January 19th (today), to call her and we will have to investigate. She also told me that they don’t need AF to show before starting stims. This kind of scared me, and delighted me at the same time. So of course, I scoured Google for examples of this, and sure enough, IVF stim cycles are commonly started with or without preceding periods. Now, since we plan on doing a fresh transfer, wouldn’t this be like sleeping in bedding that hasn’t been washed since last month? Okay, bad analogy, but you know what I mean.

Anyway, I called the nursing line and left a voicemail about not yet having a period, and I’m waiting to hear back from them. What I’m anticipating is that they will have me in for blood work and ultrasound, and then one of the following outcomes will happen:
– my hormones look great, and we go ahead and start stimming
– my hormones look not great, and they make me wait or take Provera again
– ultrasound reveals a functional cyst and they either aspirate it, or cancel the cycle

I certainly feel the effects of progesterone, so my gut feeling is that AF will happen eventually, but that I am just experiencing a very long luteal phase (Lupron can delay AF too). I do worry about being on Lupron for so long, as it can cause oversuppression, and then I’d need higher doses or longer stimulating with the Gonal-F.

Here’s my BBT for those of you who enjoy these types of things (I know I do):

2015/01/img_6021.png

Anyone have experience with starting stims without a period beforehand? I going nutz over this. Please send sanity vibes. This waiting is seriously killing me. Merci beaucoup!

20 thoughts on “Honestly! Still Waiting for AF!

  1. Ugh sound too famililar. My period was 3 or 4 days late because of the Lupron. My wife is also having a cyst aspiration today. -_- i’m sorry. I wish i knew more abt stimming than i do but unfortunately we are not that far ahead. Love your analogy btw haha

  2. I know the frustration! I had a 42(!!!) day cycle before I could even start this cycle of BCP’s. Ughh. Hope you get this show on the road soon. Waiting sucks!

Leave a Reply

