Home » Gluten-Free Recipes » Juno the Dog’s Adventure in Chocolateland

Juno the Dog’s Adventure in Chocolateland

Juno, our husky/lab/retriever mix is an exceptionally beautiful dog.

IMG_0218
Gorgeous right?

However, being part ravenous food monster Labrador retriever, she is also a gluttonous pig that is fixated on food, despite pretending not to be looking. She has her favourites, of course:

IMG_0598

IMG_0597

IMG_0599
These items should never be left on the table within reach of the dog!

But generally, she doesn’t go after our food. We can set a plate of dinner on the ottoman in front of the couch (knee height), and leave the room, confident that neither dog will touch it. We can drop food accidentally on the ground, and neither dog will approach it (unless given the “okay” command). Overall, we have very good dogs who we can leave unattended, and come home to nothing missing or destroyed.

That is, until yesterday….

When I came home after a long day of appointments and grocery shopping, and NO DOGS CAME TO GREET ME AT THE DOOR. This is highly unusual, so I knew something was up. (Juno experiences copious amounts of self-inflicted shame when she does something bad, and her guilt causes her to hide and not make eye contact with us.) I looked around, and found a crumpled sheet of used parchment paper, and then I remembered.

I had made a tray of very scrumptious gluten-free fudgy brownies two days before, and because they’re so decadent, DW and I had been chipping away at them slowly.

IMG_0592

You can find the recipe here.

Normally, we place things like this out of reach, but because I was in such a rush yesterday (slept in remember?), I left the remaining brownies on the kitchen table.

Well, she must’ve gotten into them, because not a crumb remained. Even the knife used to cut them was completely cleaned off.

Of course you all know that chocolate is very toxic to dogs, so after the initial shock and disappointment, I started to worry- how much had she eaten? Is she going to be sick? How toxic is chocolate really? And then I found this dog-chocolate-toxicity-meter. And not knowing how much Juno weighs, or how much brownie actually remained, I kind of guessed a bunch of parameters, and input those values. I subsequently called DW, freaking out.

IMG_0591

But while talking to DW, got more accurate values, and got this:

IMG_0594

The dog looked fine. She wasn’t panting, or acting weird at all. Actually, her and her little sister started begging for their dinner… At 3:30pm!

So we left it at that, and took them for a nice off-leash hike at the conservation area. Juno was fine, but no fudge poops to be seen yet.

And then this morning at 6am, she barked at the door desperately (unusual, as she usually sleeps in until we get up). I let her into the backyard, and hoping she had a nice big chocolately poop. I haven’t checked yet though.

So far she seems fine. I think the cocoa threat has passed. She is sleeping like a tipped cow in the living room, still getting up every 30 minutes to bark at someone on the street.

IMG_0595

I’m extremely pleased that Juno doesn’t share her steals with her little sister Clementine. The last thing I need is to try to induce vomiting in a chihuahua-pug with very sharp teeth!

Lesson learned: Don’t leave food on the kitchen counter, especially when in a rush to leave the house! That dog can’t be trusted!

31 thoughts on “Juno the Dog’s Adventure in Chocolateland

  1. I have a lab who is also a gluttonous food monster. He frequently gets bags of bread off of the counter if we don’t push them far enough back. He once ate an entire box of fudgy girl scout cookies and never had a single symptom of toxicity.

    They have iron stomachs.

    • They really do! It’s so interesting watching them and their bottomless pits of stomachs. And the weird things she wants to eat- like Kleenex. She loves Kleenex. Especially in contrast to the little dog, who is very picky, even with her treats. The little dog will drop and walk away from treats she doesn’t like, and has even protested a change in food before! But goodness, labs and lab mixes are really the sweetest dogs.

      • My bubba will eat paper towels-similar to the kleenex situation. and cardboard! BUt you’re right-he is my lova bubba (that’s what I call him-or my bubbaroo). The sweetest and also most protective dog I’ve ever had.

  2. I would have been so panic stricken if Sadie had done that! Sadie has only taken food twice off the counter, but we shouldn’t blame a puppy for trying to eat a thawing roast or freshly cooked hamburgers. We learned and she grew up and we’ve been good ever since. Although, to this day if food hits the floor, it’s her’s.
    Anyways, back to Juno, I am so thrilled that she seems to be fine! I’m sure I would have been rushing her to the vet while Mr. MPB sat there trying to talk me down and save unnecessary vet bills.

    • Yup, DW says that whenever dogs are bad, it’s the humans fault. Lol. I should’ve known better. Luckily, I only have one dog tall enough to reach the kitchen counter. The money saved from not going to the vet is going in Clementine’s puggybank!

  3. You know it’s going to be bad when they don’t greet you at the door. I can relate to this post in a way that non-dog people could never even begin to comprehend. You think labs are gluttonous food monsters? Try living with basset hounds. The things Twix & Rolo have consumed include: a dozen fancy cupcakes from a fancy cupcake shop (wrappers and all), entire bowls of Halloween candy (note the plural-also wrapper and all), more sticks of butter than I can even count, an entire platter of ham at Christmas dinner, a 4-lb roast defrosting in the sink, entire loaves of bread, full bags of apples, a bottle of honey once… the list goes on. Nothing with a scent is safe in our house. Even the trash can has to be in a cupboard with a child safety lock on it. Point being: they are still alive. Aside from an episode of pancreatitis once and an array of poop in colors that I didn’t know were possible, they have always been just fine. Also–Twix is PROUD of herself for getting in trouble. She has a thing about greeting you at the door with whatever her current most prized posession is (usually a rawhide bone), but when she finds food, I am often greeted with whatever bottle, bag or box contained the food.

    • Oh my goodness! Wow. The most impressive might be the STILL DEFROSTING meat in the sink. Lol. It sounds like those two must be working together to accomplish that much damage! It makes sense (no pun intended) though, being hounds and all. Cooking smells in the kitchen must be absolutely unbearable for them. I can tell that Juno feels a bit slighted when we’ve left a slow cooker with meat going all day… And have it placed just a little too high for her to reach.

      • I cooked a pork roast in the crock pot on Tuesday and I had to put a cast iron pan on top of it and another in front of it to keep them away! You should have seen the drool! You’re right, though–I can’t imagine having such a developed sense of smell when something’s cooking! I still don’t feel sorry for the little bastards, though!

  4. Sarah’s dog Grumpy got into my bag a few weeks ago. I had a bag of raisins in it, and he ate the ENTIRE freaking bag of them. Raisins (even a small handful!) can be deadly to dogs. So, I quickly googled what to do, and gave him hydrogen peroxide to make him puke. 10 minutes later, he was gagging up a hundred raisins.

    Of course, I have SO many stories of Solo eating stuff he wasn’t supposed to. Life with dogs is never dull! Juno really is gorgeous. Her coat looks so smooth & healthy.

    • Thanks, she really is a beauty. We feed them really good food and she gets glucosamine and lots of omega 3’s for her hips and her skin/fur.

      Aww Solo. Do you ever get to see him?

      When Grumpy puked up the hundred raisins, did they rehydrate into grapes? I just have some cartoon visualization of this! Lol.

  5. Haha, glad the fur baby is okay! I have a goldendoodle that is also a glutenous food monster! I’m constantly surprised when she catches me slipping…every. single. time. I leave something on the counter for more than 10 seconds. I’ve got to give her some credit for dedication and persistence,

  6. My brothets dog is a freak for cinnamon raisin bagels and you would think we would learn to put them away! Nope. He has eaten no less than 18 bagels this year. Bad doggy.

  7. I’m glad she is ok. One of our dogs ate a whole pan of brownies once and when we looked up the amount it was right under the potentially lethal amount. She was pretty sick, but was okay. It was scary though and we are much more careful about leaving things in her reach. Although she did eat the cake I made for M’s naming ceremony and since I was 1 week postpartum I cried about it.

  8. My friend’s lab once ate one dozen bagels – all at once. She was like a python who had digested a whole rate, and she had the worst gas imaginable for a few days. I’m so glad Juno is ok, but also very impressed that you can leave your food accessible and leave the room. The bulldogs are not so well behaved!

  9. My dog rebelled when the boys came and started eating off the counter. He ate a canister of prunes (cardboard container and everything) and pooed for 24 hours straight! It was so bad! Glad your dog is ok!!!

  10. Oh my! We have a lab and can totally vouch for the gluttony. The latest – consuming 3 pounds of grapes which could cause kidney failure. Unfortunately, with grapes, there isn’t a direct link between amount consumed and possibility of kidney failure. So vomiting was induced by the vet and he was placed on 48 hours (!!) of fluids. Ugh. It was the most expensive bag of grapes I have ever purchased. He has also eaten an entire leather work boot, 5 pounds of beef in one sitting, and two many loafs of bread to count all that passed and without intervention, whew. I am glad Juno is on the up and up!

    • Oh man! That is an expensive bag of grapes! The entire leather boot is impressive. Wow. I have a friend with a bulldog that ate almost an entire pair of jeans- you could see the rivets and buttons on X-ray! Silly dogs. We’ve been spending the better part of two days lovingly making fun of Juno, saying “you couldn’t help it eh, big girl? It’s just in your genes”, and calling her “cocoa”. She just wags her tail from the attention.

  11. Those stories are hilarious! I once had a bull terrier puppy who jumped into the front seat of my car when i popped into a shop for 2mins, got into a wrapped plastic bag, and ate at least half a king sized (the largest size) bar of chocolate. Including the foil. He was fine (I was young & didn’t know it was poisonous to dogs), but spent the entire night running in circles around my room jumping on and off the bed and a couch! He was always rather thick – but I’m not sure if that was the chocolate or not?

  12. Ugh they’re such brats. When he was younger, my shih tzu was facing garbage hound nightmare. Spent my life savings to re remove a chicken bone from his belly. He also ate a Terry’s choco Orange while we were visiting friends (no idea how the crafty bastard got it). They’re adorable but such jerks sometimes!

    • Yup! I believe it. Luckily for us, lil Clementine, the chihuahua pug, has a very sophisticated (picky) palette. I gave her a treat the other day as me and the big dog were heading out for a walk (it was too cold for the little Mexican), and when we got home, she left the treat on the floor, exactly where I had given it to her. Clearly, it wasn’t “good enough” for the seniorita!

Leave a Reply

