Home » IVF#2 » IVF#2: After 12 Days of Stims… We Trigger Tonight!

IVF#2: After 12 Days of Stims… We Trigger Tonight!

Well here we are, after 12 days of Gonal-F doses ranging from 200IU to 250IU, finally, we trigger tonight!

Yesterday I waited by the phone, self-soothing with spoonfuls of coconut butter (you must try coconut butter- not oil- it is so rich and creamy and delicious. It’s the only food I could really taste yesterday), for a phone call that never came. This morning I went to my monitoring appointment, had more blood drawn (so many holes in my arms now), and went for my daily meditative dildo-wanding.

These are my stats:

IMG_6161

IMG_6160

IMG_6162

As you can see, it was a good call for my RE to have me stim for one more day. A good amount of growth happened, and some of the mid-sized follicles have grown to potential maturation size. The ultrasound technician says that in her experience, the follicles 16mm and greater will probably be mature by egg retrieval. The 15mm ones are iffy, and anything smaller is unlikely to yield a mature egg by egg collection. So right now, we’re looking at 18 or so potentially mature eggs, which is great. Obviously, you never know until egg retrieval, but I love to speculate. TTC had made me a master speculator. I have self-diagnosed a whole shit tonne of things already, most of which has actually been correct.

Anyways, there’s a lot of snow around here, and I’m dying to take the dogs out, but the conservation area doesn’t get plowed, and the snow is knee-height. Juno killed and ate 90% of a raccoon a couple of days ago (we lost her in the conservation park and then found her laying in a mess of fur and blood, so we speculate (see master speculator!) that it must’ve been a small raccoon based on the fur). She has been crapping fur poops, which can’t be fun. I might throw on my gators and go for a jaunt with her. Oh, that dog… Eating things she shouldn’t eat.

Speaking of eating, I have been feeling quite a bit less bloated in the belly lately. I believe that it is due to some changes that I’ve made to my diet:

1. Cut down my carb intake a bit. Because of the amount I was working out before stims, I was eating 40-50g of carbs with each meal (so 4-5 times a day). I’ve cut that down to 20-30g of carbs with each meal, sometimes less, depending on the meal. I always feel a bit better eating less carbs. It’s not a weight loss thing, it’s an overall homeostasis thing.

2. I’m force-feeding myself protein with each meal, even with snacks. I ate a lot of protein before (at least 35g per meal x 4-5 times a day), but feeling like crap doesn’t make you want to cook or eat things that require a knife.

3. I’m consuming a lot more salt than usual. I usually consume very little salt, but thanks to some advice from this lovely blogger at Plan B Chronicles, I’m eating way more salty foods. I’m adding salt to my soups, eating more salty snacks, etc.

4. Metamucil is my friend. I’m taking two scoops of the Orange flavoured powder once a day. DW says it makes her poops “nice and fluffy”, which makes me giggle. I don’t think my poops are ever fluffy, but I’m crapping at least once a day right now, which makes me happy.

Having so many follicles, I’m aware that OHSS is quite likely on the horizon. All of the above mentioned efforts are also to prevent it. Last year’s IVF had 36 growing follicles, 19 of which were mature. I felt super shitty for 6 days after egg retrieval, and then started to feel a lot better. All in all, it took 2 weeks for me to be able to take a dump without crying alone in the bathroom (due to enlarged ovaries). I was bloated and in pain, but didn’t have nausea or troubles breathing like some women do. I definitely had ascites, and got to practice some diagnostic tests that I had learned in professional school.

Lindsey at Awaiting Autumn also mentioned taking Dostinex (Cabergoline) for OHSS, and I’ve sent an email to my primary nurse asking about being prescribed some. This study shows that it doesn’t negatively affect egg maturation, implantation rates, or pregnancy rates.

So yeah, we trigger tonight, and egg retrieval is on Friday, though I’m still waiting for a call from the nurse to find out the exact time for both events.

Last year I said that I’d never do this again (because of the pain and trauma to my insides), and here we are, doing it again. I hope that we finally get some babies out of this.

32 thoughts on “IVF#2: After 12 Days of Stims… We Trigger Tonight!

    • Thank you. I do too. Somehow we got 19 mature last time, and some of those were smaller than 16 at trigger, so who knows! My speculating skills drive DW nuts sometimes- because I sit there overanalyzing things and coming to conclusions, while she sort of is okay with uncertainty. We’re wired differently, but as a team it totally works 🙂

  1. Finally!! It all happens so fast from here. Those numbers look great! I hope you get a ton and that they All fertilize! I know how painful it can be (It took Callie about 2 weeks to not feel shitty) so good on you for going through it AGAIN! I’m sending you hugs and lots of love, patience, and positive energy. And lol at your dog eating a raccoon…seriously?!?! That’s crazy!

    • Thanks! Yeah Juno is part husky, which makes her go into hunting mode all the time. Today, she chased off a coyote that was stalking us in the woods, so I’m happy that she is that kind of beast sometimes.

  2. Your numbers look fantastic. I’m very excited & hopeful for you! I hope they give you the stuff to help quell OHSS.

    Also, Juno eating a raccoon. The thought made me gag a little. I know..nature’s way & all. But I’m a visual thinker and that vision made me queasy! Also too: because I’m a visual thinker, you made me visualize fluffy poops.

    • Lol. That might be the funniest comment I’ve read- ever. I know where Evie gets it from now 😉 Oh I’m sorry! Fluffy poops, furry poops, so many references to poop in my post!

    • PS- I’m a visual thinker too, and sometimes it really is a curse. I’m also quite in tune with taste for some reason, so seeing good food makes me salivate, and watching graphic violence or gore makes me wanna puke.

Leave a Reply

