Home » IVF#2 » IVF#2: Embryo Development Day 2

IVF#2: Embryo Development Day 2

(Image from: http://www.advancedfertility.com/4cell.htm )
On day 2 of development, embryos should have 4 cells. The grading of them depends on the level of fragmentation.

Of our 13 fertilized embryos:
7 have 4-5 cells, and are graded as good
5 have 4-5 cells, and are graded as average
1 has 2 cells, but is still alive and could catch up

I asked the embryologist to give us daily updates, which they don’t normally do. I am so grateful that she is doing this for us, and appreciate the time she takes to answer our questions.

OHSS watch:
Weight: up 0.2 of a pound
Waist measurement: up 1 cm

How I’m feeling: Ovaries are still sore, especially with movement, peeing and pooping. The Dostinex is still making me super nauseous despite taking it at night and with food. DW made me a great breakfast in bed: GF grilled cheese and soft boiled eggs, with a side of Gravol.

Today, I start all of my embryo transfer meds:
– prednisone 10mg
– endometrin (progesterone suppositories)- 100mg x 3 times a day
– prometrium (progesterone orally)- 300m at bedtime
– Fragmin injections

*TMI Warning*
Shoving the Endometrin in my vagina was a real treat this morning (not!). My vagina is clearly still in the early stages of healing after all the egg retrieval punctures. I couldn’t get the suppository more than two inches inside, because everything was clenched and hurt.

I’m a little worried about the Prednisone, because last time (failed FET) it caused major comfort food cravings, as well as water retention. This time, I’m trying to stave off OHSS, and the last thing I need is to crave bad food and retain water. However, a nice therapeutic effect of the prednisone is that it made my digestive issues go away. Honestly, my usual IBS and Celiac issues seem to go away when I’m on the Prednisone, which is wonderful.

19 thoughts on “IVF#2: Embryo Development Day 2

  1. I’m so happy you are getting daily updates! I feel like somehow it would be comforting to know what’s going on.
    I’m excited for you to start prepping for the transfer, and hope your body heals quickly from the retrieval!

    • Keeping me at 10mg. Everyone I see online is on 20mg and higher. I’m not sure why he’s only got me on 10mg- maybe just to treat me stepwise- lowest dose to see if it works? Obviously, I want a dose to ensure my immune system won’t act up, but I tried asking before, and they weren’t receptive to the increase. I hope 10mg daily is enough.

    • Yes, so awesome. I find the clinic staff are a bit nicer to me now that I’m a repeat customer. I hope we get all the blastocysts we need for the kids that we want. Fingers and toes crossed.

Leave a Reply

