Home » IVF#2 » IVF#2: Embryo Development Day 4

IVF#2: Embryo Development Day 4

Last year, this is where the major short listing happened, as we went from 11 embryos on day three to 8 embryos on day four.

Yesterday, I informed you that all fertilized embryos were still alive and kickin’. However, their grades weren’t all the same:
6 graded good
5 graded average
2 graded poor

I figured that we would probably have one or two less than last IVF make it to the day four compacted morula stage.

But I was wrong.

And I’m about to cry.

Of the 11 day three (good and average graded) embryos from yesterday….

FOUR were compacting.

How the hell did we go from 11 to 4?
Last year we went from 11 to 8!

I have made so many changes to try to produce better quality eggs (no evidence that my egg quality was a problem even) this time around, like:
– supplements
– minimal exercise
– more sleep
– Chinese herbs
– no coffee
– less sugar
– more fat

So WTF?????!

The embryologist said, “Hopefully, we will have 1 or 2 to transfer tomorrow.”

Last year we had SEVEN blastocysts.

She said that the remaining embryos are still alive, and could just be slow growers. Some could become day 6 blastocysts. There are a couple that have a lot of fragmentation, so they are unlikely to progress further even though they are still alive. She didn’t really seem to want to carry on talking to me, or giving me details like she had in previous phone calls.

I guess no one likes to be the bearer of bad news.

Please please please universe, help all four of my morulas keep growing and thriving so that they can come home where they belong. Send love to the embryos who have fallen behind so that they too, have a fighting chance.

Friends, please send me hope, peace, and positivity, as I can feel my anxiety spiralling out of control already. I don’t want to relive the hell that was IVF#1. This is my chance to restore hope in the things out of my control. Thank you.

PS- my OHSS has gotten a bit worse again. There’s no pain now, but my weight is up 2lbs, my circumference up 2cm, and I drank more than I peed out yesterday.

50 thoughts on “IVF#2: Embryo Development Day 4

  1. OMG, this was agonising to read. It’s totally out of anyone’s control and so unfair. You are so brave and strong – how on earth are you managing to get through this? I really really hope that tomorrow brings better news xxx

  2. Sending love and positivity not just to you, but to your little embryos. I’m shattered for you, but will hold faith that these ones will continue to grow and at least one of them turns into the long-awaited, very loved little baby.

  3. I’m so sorry this was the news today. This is the absolute hardest part of IVF, I think. Hang in there. I’m thinking of you and all of those cells.

  4. You can’t be down on yourself! You have done everything possible to ensure these little embies have the best possible chance. Sending good vibes your way that they continue to fight hard and grow ❤

  5. I have a post almost identical to this. (If I weren’t such a WP idiot I’d link to it) It’s devastating to watch the drop off as the days goon. What’s worse is that there is simply no explanation. It’s just a total crap shoot. I think my RE used those exact words. If it’s any consolation, I had 27 eggs retried and by day 5 had 2 Day 5s. Day 6 I added 1 more. So,I totally get it. I still remember the kicked in the gut feeling.

    • Yeah it really is a crapshoot, it seems. I think that is what frustrates me the most about all of this fertility stuff… The lack of predictability yet the stats that we measure ourselves against.

  6. I’m so sorry this isn’t panning out the way you’d like it too, it’s so hard to know what happens in this biological process. Hopefully what is left to transfer are the babies that are meant for you.

  7. I wish I could come and give you a hug. I’m sorry your embies are struggling. It’s awful to go through the amazing effort you have and not get more blasties. We only ever ended up with four and that was scary. I hope they thrive tonight and the ones that are big and strong do really well inside of you. Sending love and peace. Take care of yourself tonight.

  8. I don’t know what to say that will make anything seem better hun…but if I could hug you right now, I would. I will be saying a little prayer for you tonight…here’s to a handful of not just embryo’s…but to babies, soon to be in your (our!) arms. You and your partner deserve a break now.

      • It really is a crap shoot…for all the science that we pay big money for, I can’t help but think most of it is a toss of a dice gamble. But I’m still confident the odds are on your side for this one, mate! Four great looking embies at the 5 day stage is nothing to be sniffed at. Good luck hun

  9. Oh no sweetie I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with all of this stress. Ivf fucking sucks. I fear trying again because my first two were so awful. I’m sending you and your embies every last ounce of positive thinking I’ve got in me!! Grow, little guys, grow! I won’t even try to convince you to feel a certain way or be a certain way. You’re going to feel the way you’re going to feel, and you’ll find your own way through it all. We’ll all be thinking of you and sending you our love & support. Be well. Xx

  10. Thinking nothing but good thoughts! xoxoxoxo Sending you all the positive vibes I can. I’ve had 2 internet pal’s become successful with IVF in the last few weeks, and they say things happen in 3’s…..hoping with all my might that you’re the third!

Leave a Reply

