Home » TWW » Day 2: Dinner

Day 2: Dinner

IMG_6249

DW and I love good food, but dining out can be kind of tricky with my Celiac issues. Generally, we stick to asian restaurants (less gluten dishes), vegetarian/vegan/raw restaurants (because they tend to be more gluten-conscious), or dedicated gluten-free places. Mostly though, we cook at home. We keep it fun and fresh by making special trips to farmers markets or organic butchers with a meal in mind. I also bake a lot, as trying new gluten-free recipes is a hobby of mine, and I must say, my homemade baked goods are better than anything that I’ve tried in a store. Recently, I’ve been on a cornbread kick.

We both like all types of cultural food too, which I’m grateful for. We have friends who are strictly into “North American” food, and it is difficult to coordinate dinners out anywhere other than at a pub or chain restaurant. There’s this awesome Caribbean restaurant in a super shady part of town and I’m craving their chicken curry with rice and beans right now. We love Indian food, but have to watch out for gluten contamination. I have yet to find an Indian place in Toronto that I can trust to have gluten-free dishes. Damn, I’m craving Chana masala right now.

The last time we went out for dinner was our date night. It was about 12 days ago, and we’re due for another dinner out soon- maybe Valentine’s Day? We don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day with gifts and special whooing, but it’s kind of fun going out for dinner and seeing all sorts of awkwardness as people in various stages of relationships try to romance each other.

IMG_6106

10 thoughts on “Day 2: Dinner

  1. Well, I would imagine lots of restos will be packed on V-Day. Get in early! A friend of mine said she had to book she and her husband’s “dinner” out on Saturday for 2 pm! LOL

    I love, love, love going out to eat, and trying all sorts of different dishes and cuisines. But I don’t get to do it much anymore, because it’s not nearly as fun with a toddler in tow. That being said, Evelyn isn’t even bad when I take her out. I think it’s just more b/c it’s more work for me, and I don’t really get to enjoy my meal the way I would if my toddler weren’t there.

    But I digress! I hope you both have an amazing Valentine’s Day dinner out, wherever you choose. Your friends who only like North American food are really missing out, especially living where we live!

      • Taking Evelyn to soccer in the morning (her first practice!) and then the aquarium with a friend in the afternoon. That’s it!

        I mentioned my valentine’s day card surprise to the woman I suspect who sent it. She’s at work and hasn’t written/texted me back yet. Stay tuned! I was thinking if she tells me it’s her, I can ask her to be my Valentine…next weekend. LOL Then maybe go for dinner or something.

      • Evie starts soccer tomorrow? Omg that will be the cutest thing- careful posting anything online- you might break the Internet with her cuteness! I am guessing it’s indoors, because it is hella cold outside. Have you seen the forecast for Sunday? YIKES. I’m excited to hear if your hunch is right about your secret admirer!

  2. Yeah, my wife and I aren’t eating out on Valentine’s day. Most of the nice places we like are doing expensive prix fixe stuff. I find myself gravitating towards chains as they tend to have gluten free menus these days.

Leave a Reply

