Home » Pregnancy 2015 » 7 Weeks

7 Weeks

Hi folks, I’m sorry that I haven’t been posting as much lately, but I have been feeling like garbage. This week has been a real shitshow in terms of nutrition, thanks to the pregnancy sickness that started a couple of days before six weeks. It started off as random food aversions, and then more aversions and bouts of dry heaving started, and now I am basically grossed out by all food. It’s worse when I prepare food, so in order to survive, I’ve been dining and grabbing take out a lot more than usual. 

I’m not as exhausted in the afternoons now, which is nice, and I haven’t been napping all week. I do have a mild headache in the afternoon and evenings, which when combined with the nausea, makes me feel super hungover (without the fun night before). 

I am eating though, even if it is a battle, and I’m trying to include as many healthy items (protein and veggies) as I can to offset the bad things that I seem to enjoy right now, like popsicles, lollipops, and juice (sugary things that I normally never eat). 

I turned 33 this week, and celebrations were very chill, as I wasn’t feeling very well with the UTI symptoms (that didn’t end up being a UTI). My in-laws drove down to take DW and I for lunch for our birthdays. We went to a very nice Italian restaurant that does gluten-free substitutions for their pastas and pizzas. I had my favourite pizza there, with prosciutto di parma, figs, arugula, mascarpone and grano padano cheese, and a drizzle of honey. 



(Photo from Trip Advisor- my pizza looked almost exactly the same as this)

The pizza was delicious, but I struggled  with nausea during the car ride to the restaurant, as well as towards the end of our lunch, because I devoured the entire pizza (in comparison, DW only ate half of her pizza). When we got back to our house, my MIL surprised me with homemade gluten-free brownies, which were delicious. I felt bad because I didn’t feel much like eating again after our car ride, but I froze them so that I can enjoy them once my appetite returns. I thought it was super sweet of her though. 

The weather has warmed up a bit here, which has been nice for my mood, but terrible for keeping the dogs clean. DW has started some plants from seed, and they are now doing very well under the grow-lights. We’ve got leeks, green onions, eggplant, peppers, and lettuce going right now. Other plants will be started in a couple of weeks. Mid-May, we start considering putting them in the ground. 

Other than that, not much is new. I am so grateful that the bleeding stopped and has not returned. I sometimes feel a fluttering near my left ovary area. I suspect that the little Dumplin’ may have implanted on the left. It has almost been two weeks since my last ultrasound (5w3d) where the tech saw the gestational sac and yolk sac, and I’m anxious as hell to see a heartbeat on Monday (7w3d). This has been the longest two-week-wait yet. I feel like I have been perceiving this time as an extension of my original two-week-wait, because of our previous loss which happened at around 7-8 weeks (but the embryo stopped developing a week earlier than that). I haven’t allowed myself to celebrate this pregnancy yet because my body has shown that it can be fooled into continuing to carry a pregnancy that has already stopped. That’s why this next ultrasound is so important to us. 

However, I do appreciate the support from all of you, and your happiness for me is helping me to believe that this will work out. In particular, I received this lovely card in the mail from Alicia at Ladyloveandbabydust! 



It actually arrived on my birthday, but I was thrilled that it was to celebrate my BFP! I feel like this baby would be the best birthday present ever. 

In other news, after finding out that the midwifery practice in our region was fully booked, I went out on a limb and contacted 4 neighbouring midwifery clinics. All of the clinics explicitly say on their websites that they will not service residents outside of their catchment areas, but I sent in applications anyway. One by one, I heard back from each clinic, them reiterating that they could not accept me because I lived outside of their catchment area. Keep in mind, that for two of these clinics, I am outside by only one major street. Then, two days ago, I heard back from the last midwifery clinic, which is located the furthest distance away (technically two cities away), accepting me for an appointment next week! There are two hospitals near us, and they have privileges at the one a little further away. This hospital is the same one that my endocrinologist and RE are affiliated with, and the same one that I had my D&C at. Anyways, I’m so excited to meet our midwives on Tuesday! Last week I asked my family doctor whether she thought I should go with a midwife or an OB, and she said that a midwife would align more with my personality and needs. She said of course, that’s if everything goes well and this is deemed a low-risk pregnancy at the time I’m discharged from the fertility clinic.

I can’t wait until Monday, when hopefully we get to see the little Dumplin’s heartbeat. I hope she is thriving as expected, and that me and her Maman can finally stop holding our breaths. 

In the meantime, little Dumplin’s furry sisters are on guard. 



32 thoughts on “7 Weeks

  1. Happy birthday! 33 is my lucky number, so I will gladly share it with you. 🙂 So good to hear from you. I was thinking about you yesterday, but I figured no news was good news. I am SO ready to celebrate a beautiful heartbeat with you on Monday! I remember how torturous it was between the positive beta and the early ultrasounds–especially when you add bleeding to the mix. I hope the next few days fly by. The best advice I can offer regarding the sheer misery of the first trimester is just to continue eating what sounds good, even if it’s sugar. I was the same way, but I made sure I took my prenatals and forced the occasional protein down, and by the time 13/14 weeks rolled around, I was eating greens again and I couldn’t even THINK about any of the crap I’d been eating those first weeks. I still can’t look at orange gatorade or Hi-C, and I practically lived off of it for a few months there.

    • Thank you- both for the support and the advice. Yeah, my pregnancy sickness has been behaving the same way as you described. Last week I LOVED tomato-everything. This week I’m gagging at the thought of tomato-anything. I am definitely not beating myself up over the poor food choices, but it’s just so weird to be hungry but not have any appetite for the foods that are available. It’s even harder having Celiac Disease, because right now, I am craving McDonald’s Chicken nuggets with plum sauce. Damn.

  2. Happy birthday! Sounds like we are feeling similar in the nausea department. I can almost always eat my meal, but I want to upchuck it immediately after. I’ve been craving the carbs and fruit… really need to work on more veggies. Once you see/hear that heartbeat, you will feel 1000x better. I’ve totally left me at ease.

    • Yeah, it’s so weird- I think you were onto something with that theory of comfort foods from childhood. I’m totally reliving those foods as the only ones that I can stand right now. I was such a picky eater as a kid too lol. Some veggies I’m okay with in small quantities- cucumber, salad greens. But my usual ones, broccoli, tomatoes, spinach…. Yuck! I’ve tried incorporating more ginger into my meals too, which I think has helped a bit today. I am so nervous about Monday’s ultrasound. I’m trying to think positively and visualize a good outcome, but our multiple losses have really messed me up.

      • Thanks sweetie. I am feeling better today. I will usually go a month or two without one, and then get a few within a week or two. So, this is just one of those times. I no longer take the migraine prescription medicine as I don’t like the side effects so now I just rely on Tylenol and sleep.

      • My mom gets terrible migraines, and I always feel so bad for her. I can’t think of a worse pain to deal with. I know that for me, when I have a headache, I am just useless.

  3. I’ve not had any sickness yet..I’ve only had one wave of nausea but I wasn’t sick. In my university days I wasn’t even sick after big nights out, so I think I have a strong belly! Only 7 weeks in though, so it could all change!

  4. Happy birthday again! I’ve been thinking of you a lot and hoping everything is still going well. As you know I have a strong gut feeling about this one for you! Glad you finally got your card, how funny it came on your birthday. I’ll be anxiously awaiting your ultrasound update!

  5. So happy for you! I also remember the unbearable wait for heartbeat ultrasound! I can’t wait until you hear it and and can breathe easy!

    On the sickness front. My trick was to make a smoothie for breakfast with spinach,carrots,apple,yogurt, banana and berries. That way I crossed off a bunch of fruit and veggies and felt better eating blah foods the rest of the day!

    • Thank you for thinking of me 🙂 The dogs are always on my heels, but I have noticed that the little one has been sitting and guarding me more than she is snuggling lately!

  6. I have been thinking of you and wondering how you were doing. The nausea is good (although, I know, it’s bad). I fantasise about having that feeling of being revolted by all food 😉 I didn’t set foot in the kitchen for the first 15 weeks of my first pregnancy and just lived on Rice Krispies because it was literally the only thing I could eat that didn’t make me want to puke. And I’m so glad that the bleeding has stopped too. I have everything crossed for your scan on Monday!!!! xxx

    • Thank you for thinking of me. Early on at five weeks, I was wishing for morning sickness too… And then it come true haha. It’s really amazing how early pregnancy can transform a gluttonous food monster like myself into a super-sensitive-to-smell-food-hater. 15 weeks seems like a long time to live on Rice Krispies, but I totally see how that could happen.

  7. Happy Birthday! I don’t remember if I said that already, but I think 33 is a lucky number. Anyway I just wanted to stop by and say that I’m thinking of you and your scan tomorrow, and of course your amazing little embryo. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

