Home » Uncategorized » Versatile Blogger Award

Versatile Blogger Award

Thank you to My Perfect Breakdown  for the original nomination, and to several others of you for subsequent nominations. I’m sorry that I’m so late to the game, but the truth is, that I’m rarely blogging from my computer (embarrassingly, I mostly post from my iPhone), and The Versatile Blogger Award is something that I feel should be typed out by fingers, not thumbs.

I have known My Perfect Breakdown  for less than a year, but her story, and her strength have touched and inspired me so much. Her realistic advice and timely support have helped me since our battle began with our unique experience with recurrent pregnancy loss (RPL). I say unique, because I feel fraudulent claiming that all of the losses were mine. The one with RPL is really my wife, DW. I suffered one loss, and she suffered two. Together, we’re struggling to get past the RPL.

20150307 - Versatile Blogger Award

These are the rules when you are nominated:

1. Post the award on your blog
2. Thank the person who nominated you
3. Share seven facts about yourself
4. Nominate 15 blogs
5. List the nominees and let them know

Seven Facts About Me

*TRIGGER WARNING* Some of my facts aren’t happy ones, but they are a part of who I am.

1. Infertility has brought out really odd personality traits that I didn’t realize were there. It has made me (clinically) anxious, revealed some OCD tendencies, and has made me come off as a bit “type A”. It’s interesting, because prior to baby-making, most people would describe me as easy-going, go-with-the-flow, calm, and generally optimistic. Finally being pregnant, I can feel things shifting again towards my original self. I am starting to let go of things that I can’t control, and am hopeful for good things to happen again.

2. I am very sensitive and in-tune with my environment- not so much the details like a police officer would be, but more the ambince of a place. Being around negative people, music that I don’t like, or strong perfumes/colognes make me want to leave, but warmth from people and sunlight, music that I like, and general zen or happy energy is therapeutic for me.

3. I was never allowed to attend sleep-over parties as a kid. It kind of messed up my attempts at fitting in as a kid from a broken home. I thought my mom was just being super strict, or that she was just being super controlling, but she never gave me a proper reason for it. I never understood why, until I was 24, and she told me it was because she was sexually abused as a child by her male cousins every time they visited.

4. I was the lead singer and bassist of a band when I was in university. We played shows at the Sugar Refinery (closed down now), and a couple of pubs on the university campus, including a benefit concert for Amnesty International and the Vagina Monologues (university level). I had a shaved head… and groupies.

5. I am very smell-oriented. I need to work in a scent-free environment because perfumes and colognes give me a headache. There are smells that I love though- the smell of sleep, my dogs’ faces, suntanning. I love essential oils too- I have a shelf in the bathroom that is full of them. I also love my wife’s smell- there’s a special spot near her temple that I’d like to bottle.

6. I need a lot of sleep- ideally 9 hours a night. I’m not sure why, but my whole family is like this. Not a single early-riser among us.

7. I knew I was gay in grade 3. There was a defining moment between me and this grade 4 girl who 15 years later ended up in a long and messed up relationship with an ex-gf of mine, and now has two kids and is married to a man. It was all really weird for me because I was in love with her for like 15 years.

Nominations:

Taking our family from 3 to 4

Solo Mama

The Gayby Project

Future Dance Mom

Ladylove and Babydust

The Chronicles of a Non-Belly Mama

Speck of Awesome

Where’s My Baby Bear

Our Egg Her Nest

Hound Mamas

20 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Thank you for your kind words. You constantly inspire me as well! 🙂
    I loved getting to know you even better through this post, and I respect how real you were with what you chose to share – you are always so courageous. P.S. I love sleep too, the more the better! And like you, RPL has brought out some personality traits in me I didn’t realize existed – it’s fascinating how this experience and all of the emotions have changed us so much!

  2. #2 is me, and I couldn’t have put it any better. When I was pregnant with DD and my sense of smell was at its peak, I had to stop taking the metro to work in the morning and instead take the bus because I could at least open the windows. I swear people stopped showering & brushing their teeth just for me. A nice cool breeze on the other hand, especially if it’s raining, is instant Zen. It probably takes me back to the rainy west coast where I grew up.
    #5 along the same lines – there’s this woman, a total sweetheart, on my floor at work, whose cubicle is about 30 feet from my office, and on a couple occasions she has spritzed her perfume on herself and I’m always the first to notice… Drives me batty! I’m not against people using a bit of scents but too often it’s not just “a bit”.

    • My therapist thinks that due to #2, it’s super important that I work in positive environments and escape the Ontario winters for sunny destinations lol. Yeah the smells kill me. These days, with the morning sickness, I find it hard to cook because the smells from the food make me so nauseous. My dog farted this afternoon, which sent me dry heaving. I imagine the metro would be an absolute nightmare for pregnant ladies!

      • Haha Oh man I could smell your dog’s fart just thinking about it! Getting away in winter totally makes a difference for me, though we don’t really make a habit of it. This winter has been hard. It just won’t freaking let up!

      • The work part I totally agree with you. The mood has been so grey in my company since they announced the sale last September, and just in the last month that I’ve been working more closely with the team from the acquiring company I’ve actually felt happy at work again, and motivated. Mood and surroundings make a huge difference for me. I’m actually smiling again, and it feels good.

      • Yeah I’m so much the same. I wish I were more resilient, though. DW is totally oblivious to that kind of thing, and can work in almost any environment.

  3. I’m the same way with environments. I’m very sensitive to the moods of a place and especially those around me.
    I always love these things bc I get to know things about the blogger I wouldn’t otherwise know through their blog topic. Thank you for nominating me!

    • Sadly, I don’t really have any. It was before pictures were so easily taken (and when photos were so expensive to develop). I might have one, but it’ll take some time to dig it up.

  4. Oh – and I’m a total sniffer too – of good smells – but also extremely descriptive with ones I don’t like. My wife calls me The Pleasure Hound..sniffing her skin is one of my favourite things, and I’m missing it heaps right now!

  5. I wasn’t allowed to go to any sleepovers growing up either. I could go to the parties and stay pretty late, but my parents would always pick me up afterwards. I didn’t get it either, and thought it was so unfair, but similar to you, with a back story, I get it. Still not sure if i’ll let my kids do sleepovers either, but we have plenty of time for that. Thanks for the nomination friend!

    • It’s interesting that you had a similar experience as me with regards to sleepovers. The reasons for them are so sad though. I hate the idea of living in fear of things, but at the same time, I also wouldn’t be able to forgive myself if something bad happened to my kid. It’s such a tough decision. What does Callie think of it?

      • Callie grew up having sleep overs all the time, but her mom had a way of “interviewing” people, so to speak…She thinks it’s ok, once we get to know the family. In other words, we do things together and become friends, not so much, “Mom, Sally is having a slumber party and she invited me”. We would have to have an existing relationship with the entire family…I guess I’m ok with that…

      • Yeah, that sounds like a happy medium. DW also did lots of sleepovers and sleepaway camps, but I haven’t asked what she thinks we should do. I like the idea of “interviewing” or getting to know the families a bit better first.

Leave a Reply

