Home » Pregnancy 2015 » 10 Weeks

10 Weeks

Yesterday was April Fool’s Day, and I happily survived it without being pranked. DW teaches at a school that has a high immigrant population, and she said it was entertaining how the kids didn’t “get” what April Fool’s is about. Some teachers pretended to give surprise tests, upsetting innocent students. Some kids in her ESL class tried their hand at some April Tom Foolery, but instead just went around the classroom pointing at classmates and calling them “asshole”. Oh the joys of teaching!

The weather has been warming up here (by warm I mean above freezing), but as I thumb-type this, it’s starting to rain. I was supposed to have a midwife appointment today, but for the second week in a row, my midwife had to reschedule me because she’s at a birth. So I meet her for the first time next week.

People, I am 10 weeks tomorrow!

Symptom-wise, I’m pretty much the same as last week. 

– I’m still suffering from all-day sickness and food aversions, though I’m able to eat some veggies now. I haven’t touched meat in a long time however, and am forcing vegetarian protein substitutes down my throat instead (tofu, tempeh, chickpeas, eggs). 

– headaches persist through the afternoon and evening

– exhaustion

– acne

– [new symptom] muscle soreness- my muscles are sore even from gentle use. Right now my lower back, calves, and left glute are sore.

Once in a while, I feel little flutters in my belly, and I like to think that it’s either Dumplin’ moving or her home expanding. I don’t really have a bump yet, what I have is more of a carb pooch + bloat. I went to see my acupuncturist this week, and he was all ecstatic and asked “are you showing already?!”. I was embarrassed and said no, blaming my full bladder and bloat. 

[Omg, I’m falling asleep just writing this post.]

So it’s Easter this long weekend, and we’re driving out of town to see DW’s family. We usually have a simple dinner together with my MIL + FIL, BIL + SIL + 2 nephews + niece. It’s low-key and casual, and in general we just hope that the dogs don’t fight with their dog cousin, and that my MIL doesn’t get too drunk. 

While everyone knows that we’ve been aggressively trying to make a baby, there really hasn’t been any formal announcement of our pregnancy. Ideally, DW and I would wait until 14 weeks before telling them, but since we probably won’t see them for a while, I figured that we’d announce to them this weekend when we’re all together.

So today I’ve been blowing out, drawing on, decorating, and dying eggs. Blowing out eggs is gross on a normal day, and absolutely disgusting when you’ve got morning sickness. Just think: snotty looking stuff and salmonella everywhere. Don’t worry, I disinfected afterwards.

  

Eggs, pre-dye. 

  

Eggs, avec dye.

Then I printed off and rolled up these little messages to slip into the eggs.

  

 

The finished product.

The idea is to give each member of the family a decorated egg, which they will crack open to reveal the secret message! 

This was a fun and easy crafting activity for me. I was surprised though, that we have no crayons in the house!?! We have boxes and boxes of pencil crayons, but no wax crayons. So weird. 

Anyways, nothing else to report. I’m thinking of all of you in your respective journeys, and I’ve got my fingers crossed that April will be a very lucky month, filled with good news.

Easter card made by my MIL (the most talented crafter):

  

51 thoughts on “10 Weeks

    • Thank you! I am pleased with how they turned out too. I’m most excited about what the kids’ reactions will be. I’m wondering if there will be confusion and if the “how babies are made- modern scientific version” might have to be explained lol.

  1. That is quite possibly the cutest announcement idea I’ve ever seen! I could not be more excited for you! Happy 10 Weeks!! I remember hitting the double digits was exciting for me! 🙂

      • Oh now that I think about it …it was 10 weeks! I announced to the world. I told my family the day I took the pregnancy test lol

      • That’s crazy! Yeah, we probably won’t tell the world until 14 weeks. I might have a job interview coming up in two weeks, and I don’t want it affecting my chances of getting hired (even if it shouldn’t… Sometimes it does).

  2. That announcement idea couldn’t be any more perfect – I love it! My favourite egg (though I like them all) is the feather one. Hope you all have a lovely weekend – I can’t wait to hear about the reactions!

    • Aww thanks! That’s really kind of you to say. What always discourages me from crafting is the clean up aspect 😉 Though, for the eggs, cleaning up wasn’t too bad.

  3. That is such an adorable idea with the egg announcement! I’m sure they will all be very excited to find out the news 🙂

  4. I love those eggs!! (Which I find ironic because for once in the infertility world I’m talking about chicken eggs). You are so talented!
    I hope you have a wonderful weekend sharing your news and I hope the dogs are all well behaved.

    • Thanks! I found it ironic that I had my lips pressed up against a raw chicken egg, blowing air through it lol. Honestly, it was so gross. The art part was fun though. I kinda wish I had more eggs to decorate!

      Last time we saw them, Clem was uttering nasty death threats at Piper (BIL’s dog), all Mexican ghetto style (Chihuahua attitude). The time before that, Juno nearly took a chunk out of Piper (and Juno is the most gentle dog in the world). Piper is a cattle dog, and tries to herd C + J. She also is an aggressive butt-sniffer. No one likes a butt-sniffer.

  5. 10 weeks already!! It’s gone so fast! Those eggs are beautiful – so delicate and pretty. A lovely way to tell everyone. And I did laugh at the slime/salmonella comment 😉

    • Lol. Thank you. Honestly, I wish the first trimester would go by faster so that I felt more safe about this pregnancy. I know you probably feel the same way. The egg blowing was so gross. Next time I’m making the holes bigger so that it clears out faster!

      • Haha! I’m going to give egg blowing a go – I’ve wanted to do it since I was a little girl. Bigger holes is a good tip ;-). Yep, same here – getting out of the first tri okay is my big goal at the moment…

Leave a Reply

