Home » Pregnancy 2015 » 17 Weeks and Crafts!

17 Weeks and Crafts!

As I mentioned several months ago, we haven’t bought anything for Dumplin’ yet. Not a single onesie, toy, or trinket. But our fertility clinic did give us a little parting gift, which consisted of a whole bunch of advertisements, and samples (of baby shampoo, nursing pads, Penaten cream, and a bottle). 

  
For a month, this stuff sat on our dining room table, until my MIL gave us a little gift of baby socks for Easter. Then I knew we had to make space for Dumplin’s stuff.

So I moved some knitting materials, and made him a drawer. 

Slowly, the drawer is being filled- still with nothing purchased, but with things that have been made for him.

I’ve been working on a chevron blanket, after being inspired by Molly at Hound Mamas. It’s not done, but here’s what it looks like so far:

 

My MIL sewed a beautiful receiving blanket for Dumplin’:

  
I’ve also been sewing newborn cloth diapers for him, which was inspired by Shawns at Shawns and Cade, who has made a great tutorial on the process. I’ve been obsessed with the cute flannelette prints at Fabricland, and bought some for a Mother’s Day Cloth Diaper Making gift basket for my MIL. Her kit has snaps and snap pliers, which were expensive to buy at Fabricland so I suggest getting them on eBay. 

  
For the diapers I’m making, I bought Velcro for some variety.

  
  
They’ve been super fun to make, and I’ve been spending lots of time on my sewing machine (and less on WordPress- so forgive the lack of comments). I’ve also made some cloth pads from the leftover flannel and microfibre (for DW), as well as some awesome burp cloths.

  
We love the skulls with shades! 

Other than that, we’ve been chillin’ at the cottage on weekends, and I’ve been lifting weights three times a week. 

 (Seat stealer.) 
I’ve been feeling good physically, except for two things:

– round ligament pain which started yesterday- ouch!

– trying not to sleep on my back (back sleeping is not recommended after twenty weeks due to compression of the inferior vena cava)- frustrating!

Other than that, I’ve just been crafting away, filling Dumplin’s drawer.

  

39 thoughts on “17 Weeks and Crafts!

  1. Look at you go!! Don’t worry about the back sleeping thing. When your belly is large enough for it to actually cause issues in your back, you’ll be too uncomfortable on your back anyway. I always stressed out when I’d awake in the night on my back, but my doc told me to not stress.

    • Thanks! Good to know. It’s really been stressing me out to the point where I’m not fully falling asleep because I’m worried I’m gonna lay on my back and not be conscious enough to change position! I’m still most comfortable on my back. If I lay on my right side, I feel my left round ligament pulling (more like a stabbing feeling), and I just don’t feel comfortable sleeping on my left side period.

      Ahhh sleep. It’s been such a struggle this year. And I know I’ll need to bank as much of it before things get real uncomfortable!

  2. I am always so envious of how good you are at cooking and crafts. These items surely will become heirlooms for you little boy. I love the basket for your MIL. She must feel so incredibly included. 🙂

    • Thank you for your gracious compliment, Elizabeth. I am lucky to have a mother who is an artist and a really amazing cook, and a wife who is happy to eat anything (and willing to clean up after me!). I agree, that some of these things will likely be lifelong comforts. My MIL is an amazing quilter, and so the gift basket was a fun easy treat for her.

  3. Those diapers are awesome! And the chevron blanket is looking fantastic! I am so jealous of your sewing skills. I’m hoping that the extra space we’ll have in the new house will enable me to get more familiar with my sewing machine.

    • Honestly, I’m not a great sewer, but I’ve really enjoyed making the diapers, pads, and burp cloths. They’re quick and easy projects, and I bet you could do them too!

  4. I love it! I have a few tutorials on my blog on how to make various baby things.

    I was worried about the back sleeping as well, but you really can’t control it. No matter how many pillows I had or how wedged in I was, I always wake up on my back. The good news is your body will wake you before it becomes dangerous.

  5. I LOVE the diapers you made. If I were crafty I would love to make some for Kai!! I would recommend making some with bamboo inserts as I have heard it’s much more absorbent & trim than the microfiber. 🙂 We use microfiber inserts but it gives him a huge booty and it makes clothes hard to fit. Lol. We plan on investing in some bamboo. 🙂

  6. I love the skulls in sunglasses! Wow, you are super-talented – you’ve made some amazing things and those nappies are just brilliant!!! Ouch to round ligament pain – I sneezed the other day and thought I’d burst something. I actually had tears in my eyes, then it subsided as quickly as it came. Horrible feeling. I’m a front sleeper so dreading when that has to stop. It was about 16 weeks last time. Not long til I won’t get a decent night for the next few years… gulp. Make the most of the last couple of weeks on your back!! X

    • Thank you. I had a lot of fun making them.

      Yes the sleep issue… Ugh. I feel like I should be hoarding sleep right now but the sleep deprivation is already starting! I’m so tired that I’m falling asleep when we’re watching shows!

  7. I LOVE the cloth diapers with skulls!!!! omg love love them! you should sell them on etsy! enjoy all the new baby stuff and getting stuff ready.. it’s a fun time 🙂

Leave a Reply

