Home » Pregnancy 2015 » Pregnancy Insomnia: Is it too Early?

Pregnancy Insomnia: Is it too Early?

Well it’s 2am, and I can’t sleep. It’s been like this for over a week now, and I’m throwing in the towel… Except, I can’t really. I have insomnia again, and friends it is bad. A combination of feeling uncomfortable in every sleeping position + the worst allergies ever + having to get up to pee 3+ times a night + being hungry in the middle of the night = hell.

Normally, I just hop on my phone and get caught up on my blogs, and then head over to the repetitive drivel of the “What to Expect Due Date boards”. Most times, reading people fuss over baby names and/or how upset they are that they didn’t get the gender that they are wanted (waaaaahh! Cry me a river, Fertile Myrtle!) is enough to lull me to sleep. However, tonight, the hunger pangs and slight uterine cramps that I’ve been experiencing (growing much?) have me going down to the kitchen to grab a bite to eat. While normally, I would go for something more balanced, I didn’t want to start frying up some eggs and turkey kielbasa lest I wake DW up with cooking sounds or its lovely savoury aroma. So instead, I reached for the box of Chex and almond breeze, which didn’t satisfy me. Then I grabbed a GF chocolate chip breakfast muffin (remember that I don’t like sweets right now, and kinda don’t like the taste of chocolate even), sliced it up into horizontal sections, and then slathered it with as much peanut butter as its surface area would allow. My goal here is caloric density so that I can go back to sleep and stay asleep! 

So here I am, post cereal and muffin, ready to give sleep another go. 

My midwife says that pregnancy insomnia doesn’t really hit until 34 weeks. Bull-fucking-shit. I’m only 21 weeks and I’m frickin’ dying over here. 

Anyone else experience pregnancy insomnia? When did it start for you?

35 thoughts on “Pregnancy Insomnia: Is it too Early?

  1. I think I had insomnia more in the second trimester than I am experiencing now in the third. In the second trimester my bump was getting bigger and I was having to learn to sleep on my side (THIS WAS NOT OKAY!!!! I AM A TUMMY SLEEPER!) and it was horrible. I would spend entire nights just shifting around.

    Now in the third trimester I am bloody knackered and I’ve adapted to sleeping on my side so now I’m out like a light. I’m just shy of 32 weeks though so I’ll let you know what happens when I reach 34! xx

    • Good to know! It sounds like you are like me- I’m totally a stomach sleeper, so learning to sleep on my side has been a real struggle. I’m glad you’re able to fall asleep now that you’re just so tired from the day. I hope that you continue to have good sleeps until baby arrives!

  2. Sorry you’re up in the night – I’ve had to eat in the night too. It’s crazy! I think as soon as you get a bit of a bump, it affects your sleep, because laying down is just not the same. It doesn’t get any easier I’m afraid – the last few weeks especially are just catnaps through the night. Try and sleep in the day if you get really exhausted. At least that way you’ll be boosting your resting hours (although, day sleeping won’t help insomnia either – you can’t win!).

    • Yeah, I used to have to take naps in the afternoon, but my energy during the day has been so good, despite the insomnia. You’re right though, the bump has made sleeping so difficult because I can’t get comfortable like before. I used to be a stomach sleeper, so I’m particularly finding it difficult I guess.

  3. I had crappy sleepy more than insomnia. Eating in the night was more for nausea than hunger until breastfeeding. I still wake up hungry at night and I night weaned in December. I hope your sleep can even out and you can find a less insipid group than what to expect πŸ˜‰

    • Lol. Yeah a friend who is still breastfeeding says she keeps a snack beside her bed every night for the mid-sleep munchies. The WTE group is so entertaining though! Lol

  4. I had pregnancy insomnia the WHOLE TIME. Seriously. It was awful. I’d wake up at 3:00 for the DAY. So it’s bullshit that your midwife said it only begins at 34 weeks. I beg to differ!

    I hope yours passes quickly.

  5. Oh no! That’s terrible!!! Have you tried benadryl or something along those lines?! I know that really helped callie with the insomnia, and she slept right through being uncomfrotable. She still got up a few times a night to pee, but was usually delirious and would fall right back asleep when her head hit the pillow. I hope it gets better!

  6. Your midwife is full of it! LOL I’ve been dealing with insomnia for most of this pregnancy. There have been periods of time where it let up, but not for longer than a week or two. Right now, my witching hour is about 3:30 am. Add that to the half dozen nightly trips to the bathroom and it’s pretty draining.

  7. YES! It was brutal. I had it from very early on. Like you, I would end up getting up, hopping on the computer and eating. Lying in bed tossing and turning only added to the frustration.

    • Yes! I think it was better last night because I refused to lay in bed and let it fester. Fingers crossed tonight I’m gonna have some magnesium before bed and see if it helps to calm my system.

  8. From what I remember I didn’t sleep well during much of my pregnancy either and Jen definitely used to laugh at the evidence of my midnight snacks. The peeing gets worse, BTW. (Sorry.)

    • Lol. I figure it will get worse. I’m barely showing, and I’ve still got 19 weeks to go! I hope it’s just a matter of getting used to the side sleeping.. And the allergies to subside. Lol evidence of midnight snacking. We always clean up the kitchen before bed, so I can only imagine how surprised my wife was to see a kitchen counter full of dishes, and cutlery covered in drippy peanut butter lol.

  9. OMG girl. I think its never too early for pregnancy insomnia. I swear it started immediately for me. I think I received my best sleep late in the 2nd trimester to EARLY 3rd trimester. Now, it’s 50/50 if i’m going to get a good nights sleep or not. Hang in there. I think God is preparing us for sleepless nights. πŸ™‚

  10. No to the insomnia, but yes to the midnight hunger pains. I have yet to waddle downstairs for a snack though but I assume it’s coming. My allergies have been fierce this week too. I took a trip to my acupuncturist for some relief. πŸ™‚

    • Oh that’s a good idea! I don’t know why I didn’t think of acupuncture to help! I’m glad you’re sleeping well. The hunger pains have woken me again tonight (it’s 3:56am as I finger type this). I’m hoping baby boy is just going through a growth spurt or something.

  11. No way is it too early, I had insomnia throughout the whole first trimester! I guess that was in part from the morning sickness as I’d wake up ready to puke and have to eat a peanut butter sandwich at 2am, but seriously, I’ve had insomnia this entire pregnancy even when I’m happy, not anxious or stressed at all.

    I brought back your blueberry muffin recipe the other day! So good! Just let yourself eat and do whatever you can to get through the tough parts of pregnancy!

    • Yeah, I remembered that you had a crappy time with sleep too this pregnancy. I’m trying a couple of things to see if they help- a shower before bed, a snack right before bed, a magnesium drink in the evening… Benedryl…. We’ll see what the culmination of all that does. Lol.

      Oh I love that blueberry muffin recipe! It’s so good. Definitely a keeper!

  12. I don’t have insomnia, per se, but I do get crazy jitters at night. Eating and magnesium do the trick, though. But yeah, peeing constantly and being uncomfortable in every position blows. It seems highly dependent on baby’s position at this point. I definitely know when the kid is bouncing on my bladder, OMFG.

    • Oh man, I guess I’m lucky that I haven’t experienced that yet (kid bouncing on my bladder). That sounds terribly uncomfortable! Yeah, I find that having some carbs and fat before bed plus my Magnesium drink help a lot too. I just always forget to drink it early enough, and end up guzzling it right before bedtime- great for the peeing at night issue πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

