Home » Pregnancy 2015 » 24.5 Weeks: 2-Hour Glucose Tolerance Test

24.5 Weeks: 2-Hour Glucose Tolerance Test

I went to watch DW play hockey yesterday (with a team that I also used to play with). It’s nice to see my friends/teammates, and being “door bitch”, I get to be as close to the action as possible. We were playing a notoriously rough team. A particular defence-person that I’m usually up against caused another player to break her tibia two weeks ago. There was shouting back and forth. Bodies were being checked left, right, and center. Luckily, DW is a little Tasmanian devil out there. The score stayed 2-1 (us) for the majority of the game, but we took so many unwarranted penalties and the other team had about 6 minutes of power play time. In the end, we won, and Dumplin’ got lots of belly rubs.

We got home at about 10, and we were famished. On the way home we stopped at a local Vietnamese restaurant hoping that they were still serving food, but they weren’t. So sadly, we were left to our own devices for dinner. DW made dirty mac and cheese, and I baked a frozen gluten-free pizza. We both had some dirty Natural Selections pork wieners too. By 11pm, we were fed.

Fast forward to this morning, when we both woke up from shitty sleeps. We got out of bed at 8:30 and by 9am, we were at the blood lab. I was number 34 in the wait, but luckily, I saw a sign that said “If you are doing a 1-hr or 2-hr test, please let the nurse know”. So I got to jump the line. A nurse processed me quickly, and then took my blood with a butterfly needle (used for babies). She tapped a new vein that I’ve never seen anyone tap before (score!). As an added bonus, I piggybacked my thyroid blood work and a CBC on the same prick. 

After the fasting blood work, the nurse gave me the dreaded orange drink, which I was instructed to finish within 5 minutes. I have been reading other people’s accounts of the orange drink, which range from “it was fine” to “I was hospitalized from the continuous vomiting I experienced from the orange drink”. Surprisingly, most of the comments were more like the latter. 

  Anyways, I drank it. A 75g bottle. And it was fine. It tasted like melted orange Freezies, and burned a bit as it went down. It left a gross feeling in my mouth, which made me want to wash it down with some water, but I wasn’t allowed. So I sat, and waited. Hopped on Instagram. Looked at some dog grooming ideas with DW (Juno is gonna get a “swimmers cut” soon.
 

 DW dropped me off in the morning, and then went to grab herself some breakfast at Starbucks. She returned and has been sitting with me while I wait.

1 hour post orange drink blood work went fine. The nurse tapped the same vein as she did for the fasting, but just a bit proximal (up my arm). Butterfly needle again. Blood flow was good. Done. Back to my seat to wait. Blog a bit. Daydream about drinking water.

2 hours post orange drink, I had my third blood draw, joked a bit with the nurses (who were very kind and gentle  with me), and then promptly took a nice long drink of water. When we got to the car, I then started in on my pizza. Mmmmmmmm….. Yum! 

  
Overall, not such a bad experience. I think that having my wife with me, and having such kind nurses made the whole experience as good as it could be.

Happy Monday everyone!

19 thoughts on “24.5 Weeks: 2-Hour Glucose Tolerance Test

    • Thank you! I’m glad Kate was able to wait with you too. It definitely makes the time pass quicker. I hope to find out my results on Thursday at my midwife appt.

  1. Hope your results come back saying everything is A-OK! I took that test with my first two pregnancies, but didn’t bother with Evelyn. I was low risk, and my midwife was okay with me skipping it.

    That pizza looks SO YUMMY. Juno will look great with her summer cut!

    • Thanks! With my lifestyle, we’d expect me to be fine too, but with both my mother and father’s sisters all having had GD with their babies, as well as IVF pregnancies somehow being more at risk of GD, we thought I should do it.

      The pizza was cold, but still delicious. Juno usually gets a bit of a trim anyway, but we found that her fur didn’t dry well this week at the cottage, so we want to take it down even further. It’s tough though, because she’s white blonde, the fur is also protective for her from the UV, so we don’t want to take it down too much.

  2. I’ve also heard the horror stories! Not sure if I will have this (I think it will be recommended as family history of diabetes), but thank you for the reassuring post in advance! I’m glad to hear all was fine 🙂

    • Yes, it wasn’t too bad. I skipped the 1hr test and went straight for the 2 hour one because I know I’m high risk for GD. If you have a family history of it, you may want to do the same. It saves you from having to do the test twice if you test positive on the first screening test.

  3. Good job, all over! I really don’t think that drink is bad at all, just tastes like Gatorade. I did get really nauseous during my one-hour wait from not being able to eat, but that was just morning sickness I always have when I can’t eat. Juno will look so cute! And good for DW for kicking ass!

    • DW is the best. Honestly, I’m so lucky to have her. I didn’t get nauseous (thank goodness for Diclectin/Diclegis), but I did get cranky towards the two hour mark. I can see how people do get nauseous though. Juno got her buns trimmed today, and she is a little depressed about it, so we will do the shaving in stages lol.

  4. I also read horror stories about the drink and then found it to be tolerable if not a little sticky and syrupy. Good luck! I failed my first test and had to do the second one. Passed it thank goodness.

  5. I got migraines and felt horrible after my one and three hour tests. I don’t do well with fasting at all and never eat that much crap sugar on an empty stomach so it hit me hard. Glad that wasn’t your experience! I will be exploring other options next time. That is crazy you weren’t allowed to drink! I don’t know who comes up with these protocols because dehydration during pregnancy is of course bad.

    • Yeah I did, actually. I was pretty antsy. A few hours later, after having the pizza and running some errands, I totally crashed though and cuddled with Clem on the couch for a long nap!

  6. Glad the glucose test went okay! It made Di feel pretty sick but not as bad as some people. Hope you get the all-clear. Sounds like you’ve been taking excellent care of yourself, but I guess that’s not a guarantee. Smart to skip to the two-hour test right away!

    And wow, that hockey sounds hardcore!

    • Thanks Sarah. Yeah, that orange drink is pretty nasty if you don’t normally eat sugar lol. I really really hope I pass, both because it’s safer for Dumplin’, but also because I want to stay with the midwives. My mom and aunt both ate healthy and were fit during their pregnancies (though probably not as active as I am), and both had gestational diabetes with their babies 😦 Yeah, while i watched the game, I totally ha the itch to play (I can comfortably run and sprint right now if I want to), but then I saw some of my teammates get checked into the boards with quite a bit of force, and I though “Nah, I’m goooood”. Haha

  7. Hope you get good results, which i have no doubt you will! I’m not looking forward to it, but Callie says that it just tasted like flat orange soda. She did say, that it made her thirstier than usual. And the swimmer cut is adorable! I used to have a black and tan Pom, and he would always get a puppy cut with the exception of his mohawk. It was always my favorite to see him after his haircut, and the first thing he would do was come home, jump on all the furniture and rub his body on the entire length of the living room floor. A total visual for “freedom”, loL!

    • Lol. Thanks! I hope I pass. Yeah, Juno is so adorable with her hair trimmed. She even runs a little faster and looks a little lighter in her demeanour! A Pom with a Mohawk would be adorable!!

Leave a Reply

