Home » Mochi » Dumplin’: 32 Weeks, and Mochi: 6 Weeks 3 Days

Dumplin’: 32 Weeks, and Mochi: 6 Weeks 3 Days

Holy smokes friends, I haven’t posted in ages. I’m sorry. Life got really busy and crazy and is gonna continue that way until Dumplin’s here, and then it’ll get busier and crazier.

I’m absolutely wiped from my day today. We’re back at work officially tomorrow, but I’ve been in to do some prep and helped with registering our students today. I spent all day on my feet, and lemme tell ya, I don’t think I’m gonna be able to keep this up very long. I do multiple flights of stairs each day, and just walking around from wing to wing has my feet screaming and swelling. I felt lots of practice contractions while standing for hours, and Dumplin’s kicks are more like elbow and knee scrapes because he’s running out of space in there. 

Speaking of which, I’m feeling awfully huge these days. Someone asked me at work if I was carrying twins! Others think I must be due soon. My dad told me that I looked much farther along than I am, and told me not to eat so much. 

My feet are super swollen and achy, my crotch feels like it’s been breaking in a new bicycle seat, and I’m waddling because my pelvis feels like it’s gonna split open. My chiropractor friend/colleague is coming over tonight to fix me up.

Sleep has sucked particularly badly too- somehow, I’m one of the minority of pregnant women who gets true third trimester insomnia. Like- I can’t seem to buy a good night’s sleep. I’ve tried everything- meditations, hypnosis, visualizations, no screen time, having some magnesium, good sleep hygiene…. And nothing. Now, this insomnia is different than my usual anxiety insomnia. This current insomnia allowed me to fall asleep, but the problem is that I can’t seem to maintain a deep sleep. My sleep feels shallow and like I’m fully aware of everything going on around me. It’s not restorative. It’s not quite deep enough. I’m getting up and out of bed well before my alarm, because I’m just not sleeping. And as a result, I’m super friggin’ wiped during the day, and need a nap at around 2:30-3pm, because I truly cannot carry on with my days like this. I am so so sooooo tired. And it’s been like this since 31 weeks.

In contrast, DW has been sleeping like a log everyday. She normally never sleeps in past 7:30am, but has been needing wake up calls at 9:30-10am because the first trimester exhaustion has her storing sleep. She has also been napping, so at around 2:30pm-3pm the house is vulnerable to intruders. We both stare at each other, eyes bloodshot and droopy, and wonder, “How the fuck are we gonna survive going back to work at the end of this week?”. Honestly!

In big news, DW had her 6w3d ultrasound today, and Mochi is definitely in there, with a crown rump length of 51mm, and a flickering HR of 121 bpm! And it’s just one Mochi. An HCG-producing  Mochi that is making DW sick already. Her pregnancy sickness is pretty bad- it keeps her in bed throughout the afternoon. We’ve gone to Costco and bought a huge box of Goldfish crackers for her to stash in the car and at work. I also made some quick oatmeal-based muffins, which are a lot healthier than conventional muffins, and provide her with a quick breakfast on school days. 

[Omg. I’ve fallen asleep twice since trying to write this post. So tired.]

I apologize if I haven’t been commenting as much lately. I’m seriously drained and can barely handle responding to text messages. I am trying to keep up with all of your posts though, whether or not I’m commenting. 

I will however, try to post at least every other week, to update you on how Dumplin’ and Mochi are doing. 

Now I’m gonna leave you with some fun pictures:

 Definitely bigger than 2 weeks ago: 
Fun at the cottage last week:

   
    
 

53 thoughts on “Dumplin’: 32 Weeks, and Mochi: 6 Weeks 3 Days

  1. I love, love, LOVE that you’re both experiencing pregnancy together. It is so cool to me that your children are both in utero, and yet they aren’t twins! What a story.

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re experiencing the dreaded insomnia. As you know, I struggled with that during my pregnancy too. I always joked that it was my body’s way of preparing me for a bad sleeper, and sure enough…But I’m crossing my fingers for you that Dumplin’ is going to be a star sleeper. I don’t know how you feel about sleep training, but I’m wishing I had done it when Evelyn was around the 6-9 months mark. There’s no telling if it would’ve worked long-term, but I bet she’d be a better sleeper now if I had.

    I digress…

    Will J ask for the diclectin (or dilectin?) for her morning sickness if it’s really bad?

    Good luck with going back to school/work! I hope it goes well and you get used to being so busy and on your feet during the daytime.

    I think pregnancy – no matter your size – invites comments like the ones you’re getting about your size. I can’t even remember how many comments I got about being large (Are you sure there’s not twins in there?), etc…I think you look fabulous and you’re carrying beautifully.

    • In Chinese culture, one’s birth date is actually calculated from the day that they are “conceived”, so in a way, Dumplin’ and Mochi are kinda like twins because they were bunk mates in the petri plate! Very exciting indeed.

      Oh goodness. I’m sorry you had pregnancy insomnia too. It’s the WORST! Was yours like mine- no problems falling asleep but a hard time staying asleep? You’ll have to tell me more about sleep training. I’m all for anything that helps us get into a nice sleeping routine.

      J thinks that if the nausea stays the same, she probably won’t take Diclectin, but if she starts actually puking she might.

      Honestly, school opening/closing procedures are the worst part of it. Once I’m into the swing of things with the kids, it should be a lot less energy-draining. My pelvis is gonna be my limiting factor though. I am barely able to move at the end of today. I can’t even imagine what it’ll be like later as Dumplin’s gaining 0.5lb a week. We’ll see. As for people’s comments, I think that a lot of people just aren’t familiar with how big bellies get during pregnancy. My dad’s comment? Well, he’s just an ass, and I’ll probably post about it soon.

      Thanks for all of your kind words. We’re so happy to have you as a friend šŸ™‚

  2. Aww Beautiful news!! And you look right on track! Still stunning! Are you taking Dicletin? I’ve been taking it at night for nausea and it’s also makes me sleepy… might help for your insomnia if you haven’t tried that yet! xoxo

  3. Love, love, love the cottage photos – especially the one of you and the dogs! I hope that you find some relief AND SLEEP soon! I find I sleep deep until that first pee then I’m in a light sleep til morning. I’m also so happy to hear that Mochi and DW are doing well – minus the nausea. Nausea sucks but it’s a nice sign that your body is producing what it needs to sustain the pregnancy.

    • Aww thanks Linds! Yes, I love the cottage photos too, and hope that we can do a couple more before Dumplin’ gets here. I got some relief after my chiro appt today. It hurt like hell having my adductor stripped, but makes a big difference for me and the pubic symphysis pain. I hope you got some relief too. The insomnia is a killer though. I’m a person that needs a solid 8-9 hours of sleep a night, and can’t function well without it. I know it’ll be nutz when Dumplin’s here, but I kinda feel like I should still try to store as much sleep as possible, and my body is sooooo sooooo tired. Do you find your light sleep restorative?

      Yes!! We are so excited about Mochi! We aren’t out fully celebrating yet, and I’m not sure when we will, but it’s definitely nice to have things go well this time.

      • I had a major baby brain moment and screwed up my appointment time. It’s not til Friday now. šŸ˜¦ No I don’t find the light sleep does much for me either. And it always happens that I get back to that deep sleep between Mike leaving for work and my alarm going off.

  4. Ugh. I had the same kind of third trimester insomnia (also in my second tri actually) and it *sucked*. It’s gotten even worse in my case the past couple of months actually so I truly empathize with you and hope it gets better for you when you’re plain worn out from working. You two look great and so chilled out at the lake together!

  5. What a lovely post! You are looking beautiful and I am so excited about DW seeing the heartbeat at the scan!!! Wow – 32 weeks already… not long to go now. I’m getting nervous and excited for you about the Big Day šŸ™‚

  6. The pelvic pain is real! I hope your friend helped. I took to soaking my feet after work. Oh, and little snacks are your best friend from now on. Muffins, my favorite is the 5 minute paleo muffin with added in about 5-6tbs of gf oats and a few tbs of non sweetened coconut shreds if you like those. Oh and I always put mini chocolate chips because, chocolate! Glad to hear mochi is doing well. You all are in for an interesting and love filled couple of years šŸ™‚

  7. So so so glad to hear that you are both doing well. Well, as well as you can be doing for one super super pregnant and one newly pregnant woman! The insomnia is real. I don’t have it yet (and hopefully wont get it) but the getting up 3 times a night to pee is definitely not fun. I’m out of the first trimester but the exhaustion is REAL! This shit is no joke! I spend most of my weekends napping whenever the boys nap, which is like almost 2 hours twice a day, but they nap at separate times, so I spend so much of Saturday and Sunday KNOCKED OUT! Glad to hear from you friend…and good luck on your first week back at school…

    • Thanks friend! Yes, it’s very interesting having two preggos in the house now lol. I kinda feel like it’s TV reality show worthy lol. I’m glad you’re getting lots of naps in with the boys…. Both for the sleep and also for the cuddles!

  8. This post just made me smile! I’m so happy Mochi is doing well!! And so happy Dumplin’ is also growing well. I’m sorry that both momma’s are exhausted, but you’ll find a way to get through because it’s totally worth it in the end!
    Enjoy your first day back at school.

    • Thanks so much, and thanks for thinking of us today šŸ™‚ We are so grateful that Dumplin’ and Mochi are doing well. I have a feeling that September and October are gonna be all about SURVIVAL lol.

  9. Gravol!! Take Gravol to help your sleep. It’s not safe to take every night, but I used to take her here and there when I desperately needed sleep. I suffered from terrible insomnia too šŸ˜¦
    So glad both babies are doing well. Good luck with the start of the school year!

      • I’m having a lot of trouble sleeping right now. My midwife and my Naturopath recommended this product called magneleveurs by Genestra (pregnancy safe and helps big time with sleep!). It is quite expensive if you buy it in a health food store. My ND compounds it herself through Smith’s Pharmacy (as she does with other supplements). It costs a fraction of the amount (because you’re paying for the Genestra name). I’m going to get some from her. I am happy to get it for you too, or let you know how it works for me. I’m desperate for sleep and willing to try anything. (Send me an email if you want me to grab some for you – I’m getting it on Monday)

      • Thanks for the info. I’m sorry you’re having such a difficult time sleeping too. Let me know if the compounded sleep aid helps! How’s your pregnancy going?

  10. Glad to hear things are moving along well with both pregnancies! Good luck getting through the next 8 weeks at work. Do you think some sort of a support belt would help with the pelvic pressure? Hopefully you have an awesome group of students that don’t mind you teaching from a seated position. šŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Allison! I think that the support belts that exist are mostly for sacroiliac joint issues during pregnancy, which usually gives women back pain because of the belly weight. I think my pain is from walking and standing, which is just due to the weight itself, and not so much now it’s sitting… So I don’t know that a support belt would help. But yes, I definitely think the kids will cut me some slack šŸ˜‰

  11. Beautiful ladies! Sorry to hear your return to school has been so exhausting already. I hope your bodies get used to it rather than just more uncomfortable at it. Wtg mochi! Yay! Sleep ugh. The good part about getting those two babies out around the same time is you both get to benefit from pregnancy napping!! (DW won’t have it so lucky in her 3rd trimester of course, but hopefully dumplin will establish a nice, predictable schedule you can work around). Xx

    • Thank you! Yes, I hope that once our school routines are established, it’ll be less tiring. Yeah it’s so funny how we’re both so exhausted, but in different ways lol. We are napping in the afternoons together, which is nice.
      I hope that when Dumplin’ comes, he’ll be a good sleeper, and she’ll be a deep sleeper (I was in second trimester). We’re also looking forward to having a six month overlap in maternity leave šŸ™‚

  12. Glad to see your post but not glad you’re so tired. I can relate to both you though more so with DW since we’re closer in preg levels – I too am wondering how I’ll do 10 hour days starting Tuesday. All I did was go go grocery shopping and gave lunch yesterday and I was exhausted, like in bed by 3 and reading the rest of the night.

    I think you look great! Very happy and healthy. I hope your insomnia eases up. What would be awesome is if the fatigue from work overrides the insomnia.

  13. Beautiful pics. I think it’s so awesome that you get to be pregnant together and the kids will be so close in age. Forgive my ignorance, not sure if you said, but did you use the same donor for both babies? I hope that’s not an offensive question.

Leave a Reply

