Home » Mochi » Mochi: 9 Weeks Gestation

Mochi: 9 Weeks Gestation

Since Sundays are when Mochi’s weeks turn over, I’ve decided to do Mochi updates on Sundays! As I mentioned in my last post, blogging  isn’t DW’s thing, so I’ll be updating you on her behalf.

Things have been good with Mochi. We suspect that Mochi is a strong little bugger, as he/she has been causing DW quite a bit of pregnancy sickness. There hasn’t been any barfing so far, but DW feels very nauseous and dizzy whenever she’s hungry or tired- most afternoons and evenings. She also has a gross taste in her mouth… Like she’s been sucking on a metal washer. 

Physically, DW has been super tired. She has been sleeping a solid 8 hours a night, which is a lot more than her pre-pregnancy average of 6-6.5 hours a night. Most afternoons she yearns for a nap, but we’re so busy that it never actually happens. 

She was constipated a few weeks ago, so she’s made a routine of drinking Metamucil (fibre drink) twice a day, which has been helping. 

Other symptoms: heartburn, giant sore breasts (fun to look at, but not for touching), weight gain from the fertility and RPL drugs, unquenchable cravings for pasta- all types of sauces. Liquids make her want to puke. 

Work has been super busy for her, but she has been enjoying it. DW teaches at-risk youth math and science in a specialized classroom. So her interactions with students in a class is more one-on-one, rather than “performing” at the front of a class for 30 students. This makes a difference when you’re feeling kinda shitty. 

We met her midwives two weeks ago, and 2/3 of them are pregnant and won’t be present at Mochi’s birth. She’s with a different clinic that I am, but hers are closer to our home (mine is 2 cities away). She has another appointment in two weeks, and then has her NT scan at 12 weeks. 

We are soooooo excited to see Mochi again (I’ve actually never seen Mochi except as a blastocyst). Exciting times ahead!

29 thoughts on “Mochi: 9 Weeks Gestation

  1. I can totally side with dw’s nausea. I have the same thing going on right now. It should subside soon for the both of us. We are both 9 weeks. I can’t imagine having to teach children one on one going through it. It’s really the most horrible feeling to be this nauseas constantly. Hope it subsides soon for her. With my two previous pregnancies it slowly diminishes around 12/13 weeks after the placenta has taken over.

  2. I was just thinking of J the other day and wondering how she’s been feeling! I’m glad to hear that all is going well with Mochi’s growth. And no barfing is a good thing! I always had that metal taste in the first trimester. YUCK.

  3. Yeay that’s so awesome! Interesting what her cravings and aversions are – it’s all so random! I hated the taste. Ugh. Rotten pennies and sewer gas. Bleach. I still have it a little esp at night or when hungry/tired but I remember how it made everything taste like rotten food, so much so, I once put rancid butter on my toast and didn’t notice until DH pointed it out. Fingers x’d it all subsides soon, looking forward to pix!

  4. Glad to hear that things are going (relatively) well! Is she going to ask her MWs for Diclectin too? It’s so hard to function when you’re not feeling well. Hopefully things get better for her in the second trimester.

    • Thanks Allison! I think her nausea isn’t so bad that it can’t be alleviated with regular eating of simple carbs lol. She’s noticing that if she eats right when she feels like she’s gonna be sick, it goes away 🙂

  5. It’s so exciting that you’re both healthy and pregnant right now. What a journey it’s been! I’m so crazy happy for you four! (Six counting the fur babies!)

  6. Amazing news – just amazing. Isn’t it incredible that you are both happily pregnant right now?? I wonder if there’s something in the hormones/chemicals that we give off that helps to encourage other pregnancies… almost like you being pregnant helped primed DWs body for pregnancy?? I am speculating in the far realms of poorly understood science here, but it makes me wonder. Kind of like how women fall into menstruating at the same time. Anyway, whatever goes on behind the scenes, it’s great news 🙂

  7. I’m so glad things are going so well with DW and little Mochi! And i had that weird metal taste in my mouth. I would tell Callie that it was almost like I was chewing on aluminum foil…so weird! And no matter how much water I drank or how much gum I chewed, it didn’t go away until about 14 weeks…it was so crazy! Can’t wait to see pics of Mochi’s scan!

Leave a Reply

