Home » Uncategorized » Dumplin’: 15 Weeks Old

Dumplin’: 15 Weeks Old

Wow! Mom life is BUSY! It’s been 60 days since my last real update post. I’m so absorbed in this child that I actually am not on my phone much anymore, so less posts and less reading of blogs. 

Things have improved a lot over the past 2 months. Dumplin’ is sleeping better, he’s about a kazillion pounds heavier, he’s way more interactive…. I’ll touch on all of these things.

We’re still bedsharing, and Dumplin’s still falling asleep with a nipple in his mouth every night, but with this “method”, we get a somewhat decent amount of sleep. We usually go down at 9pm, and baby boy usually wakes up at 9am. If I have things I need to get done, I tip toe around the house a bit earlier than his wake-up time, which is nice. I’ve been going to the gym in the mornings too, which has been wonderful both for my sanity, but also for creating a bit of a routine for Dumplin’. He is a little charmer though, and when I check on him in the gym daycare, he’s usually got three hunnies fawning over him. 

Naps are tough though. He fights them so much, and when our schedule gets messed up, he is so fussy when I try to put him down. We’ve noticed that he will eventually fall asleep in his car seat though, so sometimes a quick transfer into the swing happens when we get home because he will nap in there sometimes if we have it on a moderate oscillation. Like right now, which is why I have my hands free to thumb type this!

Dumplin’ is such a sweet boy though. His personality is coming out more, and I’m watching him grow and learn so quickly these days. Over the course of this past month he has started sitting up steadily while leaning his back against us, grasping and holding things, appreciating textures with his hands, trying to babble along to songs he recognizes, babbling at other babies, and holding our hands. My favourite part of our days is when we nurse and he’s holding my shirt, staring at me lovingly, and then smiles or coos while my nipple is still in his mouth. It’s so sweet. 

I’ve been taking him to Infant Mother Goose singalong classes, which he LOVES. His favourite songs are: The Alphabet Song and Itsy Bitsy Spider. He is such a social guy. He loves being around other babies, and when I make silly gestures when singing to him. He coos really loudly at his own reflection in the mirror, which makes me happy because I think he’ll enjoy having a sibling around. 

Sir Dumplin’ is also still packing on some good poundage. Two weeks ago, at 3 months old, he was weighing in at over 18lbs. Yeah, that’s right. Over eighteen. Carrying and clicking in his car seat is very difficult. He’s a chunk. A super chunk. 

Let’s get you caught up:    

     
    

 

 
As for me, I’m feeling a little bit more human these days. I’m still sleep deprived, but my sense of humour has returned, and I’m enjoying our days together more. 

DW just hit 28 weeks, and is doing well. Her hips are bothering her a lot at night, so she isn’t sleeping very well anymore because she can’t get comfortable. Mochi is very active, and must be really metabolically demanding because DW is hungry all the time now! Her and I are both waking up at 3am for midnight snacks (that are more like meals actually). It’s really interesting going through these phases of our lives together. 

  
DW and Mochi working out at the gym.

Tomorrow we see Mochi again, to check on his/her placenta, which was about 1.5cm away from DW’s cervix. Maybe we’ll get some good pictures to post!

 

47 thoughts on “Dumplin’: 15 Weeks Old

  1. Reading about your mom life just makes me smile! Dumplin’ is adorable and DW is looking amazing! I am beyond happy that you are getting a bit more sleep and you are back at the gym. Oh and the infant mother goose class sounds like so much fun!!
    As always, lots of love my friend. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! I hope things are going well on your end as well. My heart warms in such different ways now as a mom. Watching him laugh and be happy is pretty much the most awesome thing in the world.

    • Thanks Alicia! Nope- Mochi’s sex will be a surprise! Hope you four are doing great. 12.5lbs and 15lbs are a nice sturdy weight. Dumplin’ is getting waay too heavy to carry around.

  2. Kai will hit 15 months in about a week and he’s 3 more pounds than dumplin’ lol, he’s such a cutie pie btw! DW did IVF with her eggs right? I’m just curious because we are thinking about beginning IUI using the same sperm donor & I will be carrying again. We would love to do reciprocal IVF again but the cost is so significantly more than IUI. & we have no frozen eggs. So I’m wondering did you guys ever worry that either family would treat mochi or dumplin’ different? Like favor the one that’s biologically related? I might be overthinking things but that’s what I do with eveeerything. I plan to write a whole post about it but with Kai having RSV right now I just can’t. : / I’m sooo glad You, DW & the minis are doing well. & also it’s awesome that you’ve developed a routine with him already! I really feel like babies strive having a routine in place. They just seem to crave that structure in my opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Congrats on starting on baby #2 soon! Mochi is actually from the same IVF cycle as Dumplin’. We had 5 to freeze. So DW’s pregnant through reciprocal IVF. We were worried that my family wouldn’t accept the babies if they weren’t blood (conservative Chinese people), which was part of the reason why we chose my eggs (another reason was that DW is 40 years old, and I’m 34). I hope Kai recovers quickly. Poor little guy. I am a person who likes routine, so I was happy to try to create that for Dumplin’ too. I hope you three are doing well. Lotsa love your way!

      • That makes sense. & I’m glad to know its not just me worrying for nothing. I guess that’s a thought many people have in our type of situations. & thank you! It’s sooo cool that Mochi & Dumplin’ are from the same cycle in that they were retrieved at the same time, frozen together & all that!

  3. I’ve been waiting for this update to give me hope that it will get easier. Thank you :-). He is super cute – what a little star! And I love how he is super sociable already. I’m really glad to hear you are feeling better. And it will only get busier as he learns more and more now! Gorgeous pictures ๐Ÿ˜.

    • Thank you. I find the same comfort in reading your blog too. The haze has cleared a bit, which is nice, but I also feel guilty about not appreciating the first three months of his life as much as I could’ve. I feel like he’s growing up so fast now!

  4. So good to hear from you. I get the lack of time to read /update – especially since I’m commenting at 4am. How often is he up in the night? We are trying to get Wyatt in bed a bit earlier but he inevitably wakes up more to feed then. We are late risers too though. Sounds like Dumplin and Wyatt have similar personalities. I’ve been astonished at the progress Wyatt had made over the past few weeks. Where did our babies go? You are lucky to have another one soon to arrive. ๐Ÿ™‚ When is the due date again? Mike has turned the book No more Monkeys jumping on the bed into a song… Wyatt loves it but only if Daddy signs it. He prefers Disney tunes from Mommy. Haha

    • Thanks Linds! It’s nice to feel human again. We used to do the 7pm bedtime, but found that since we get up so late, it became more of a nap that he woke from and wanted to play afterwards. He usually wakes to nurse 3 times a night, but goes back to sleep right away. Last night though, he was up almost every 2 hours for the first half of the night, then went a 4 hour stretch. I can’t wait to get our two little guys together this summer!

      • Yes the 7pm nap is the same for us! Honestly bedtime is closer to 10-10:30. We tried to put him down earlier last night and he woke up freaking out for me. Dumplin is adorable. I love all his updates – especially that last onesie.

  5. So glad Mochi and your DW doing great and you are feeling a bit better with your routines etc
    Lol that shirt!
    He is soooo handsome
    Good idea with story time. We have a program like that at the library here, but I thought b-boy wouldn’t like it till he’s older. I need to get him socializing agh so maybe I’ll try that.
    Love the pics! And “talking with your mouth full”, little man does something similar and I agree it’s quite adorable ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, he LOOOOVES Infant Mother Goose- mostly because he gets to see all of the other babies, but also because he loves melodies and silly gestures. I am sure that b-boy will enjoy it too. It’s nice mindless entertainment for you too.

      The “talking with your mouth full” is seriously the sweetest thing ever, and I’m so glad that you get to experience it too!

  6. I’m so glad to hear you are enjoying your days and feeling more like yourself these days. Dumplin’ is such a handsome little dude – I think I can see some of his personality shining through in his photos.

    I hope Mochi’s placenta is where it needs to be! Keep us posted.

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ it’s funny because he’s a lot like me- he looks so different from different angles, and he wears his emotions on his face so much. Fingers crossed that Mochi’s placenta is behaving ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. It’s so great to hear you sounding much more grounded and content. I’m glad you’re loving your busy days again. I can’t believe Dumplin weighs as much as Azulito who is now 7+ months. You must have a strong back and arms, mama!!

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so in love with this little being! Yeah, we’re both feeling a bit sore from carrying him around, so we’ve had to modify our positions a bit. Dumplin’s been forced to sit up on our laps to be burped instead of being held for example.

  8. He’s soooo handsome!! What percentile is he in. He looks like a stocky guy like our little Leo. I don’t recall reading but did you and dw use the same donor?

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s beyond the 98th percentile for weight and 95th for length… Haha he’s such a chunk. Yeah your Leo is a solid looking kid ๐Ÿ™‚ Both babies are from the same IVF batch, so genetically they are both part me and part the same donor ๐Ÿ™‚ Full siblings.

  9. Okay so your 60 days makes my huge absence seem less daunting! Maybe I really will get back on and blog. I wish we lived I the same city – these two boys would get on just lovely I believe. X

  10. I’m so happy to see an update from you. I’ve been wondering how y’all are doing! Dumplin’ is such a cutie and you’re definitely getting an arm workout in carrying any baby around in those car seats…so heavy!

Leave a Reply

