Home » Gluten-Free Recipes » Recipe Trade Off: Thai Red Curry

Recipe Trade Off: Thai Red Curry

This lovely blogger , Ms. Bosmalife nominated me for a recipe trade off that she started.

Here are the Rules:
*Once you are nominated by someone for the recipe trade off*

-link the person who nominated you
-then upload your recipe.
-include a picture if possible.
-than link other bloggers (letโ€™s aim for 5-10)

Recipe: Thai Red Curry
The recipe I’m sharing is what I made for dinner tonight. It’s a really easy recipe, that I use whenever I have a bunch of vegetables that I need to use up. I usually have my pantry stocked with a couple of cans of coconut milk, as well as a few jars of this red curry paste.

This recipe is gluten-free and dairy-free. It can also be made to be vegetarian and vegan by omitting the chicken and fish sauce.

You will notice that I cook my chicken separately from my curry (some people cook it in their curry). This is because I don’t like overcooked chicken, and I have more control over it if I pan fry it separately.

Ingredients:
– a 400mL can of coconut milk
– 2 tbsps of Thai Red Curry Paste
– 2 tbsps of fish sauce
– 2 tbsps of maple syrup (or brown sugar)
– 1/3 cup of chicken or vegetable broth
– a large handful of cilantro, chopped and separated into stems and into leaves
– Any veggies that you have on hand (I used cauliflower, carrot, zucchini, red pepper), cut up into bite sized pieces.
Nice veggies to use are: red peppers, eggplant, mushrooms, broccoli, and onions.
– 6 ounces of chicken (serves two), can substitute tofu or tempeh if vegetarian

Instructions:
1. Cut up your veggies into bite-sized pieces.

2015/01/img_5980.jpg
2. Melt the solid portion of the coconut milk in a medium sized pot. After it is melted, add the remainder of the can.
3. Stir in the two tablespoons of the curry paste.

2015/01/img_5981.jpg
4. Add cilantro stems into the pot and let simmer for a minute.
5. Add 2 tbsps fish sauce, 2 tbsp maple syrup, and 1/3 of a cup of chicken broth (could be vegetable broth). Stir.
6. Different vegetables require different cooking durations, so add in your heartier vegetables now, cover, and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.

2015/01/img_5982.jpg
While you wait, grease a frying pan and cook your chicken. If using tofu or tempeh, you can add it into the curry pot now. When the chicken is done, set it aside on a plate.

2015/01/img_5983.jpg
6. Add the less hearty veggies (red pepper, zucchini) into the curry, and simmer for another two to five minutes, or until tender.
7. Dish out a bowl of white rice, add the cooked chicken to the serving plate, and a generous ladle of red curry. Top with a sprinkle of cilantro leaves.

2015/01/img_5988.jpg

2015/01/img_5990.jpg

2015/01/img_5993.jpg

Nominations:
My Perfect Breakdown
Reciprocal Love
Solo Mama
Expecting to Be Expecting
Her Egg My Nest

Sorry if things don’t look quite right, I typed this up on my iPhone.

21 thoughts on “Recipe Trade Off: Thai Red Curry

  1. I am eating this tomorrow night! It looks delicious and I haven’t made a curry in a while. ๐Ÿ™‚
    And, I guess I’d better start thinking about what recipe I will share. This will be so much fun! Thank you for the nomination.

  2. Pingback: Recipe Trade Off: Chocolate Crรชpes | My Perfect Breakdown

Leave a comment