Home » Pregnancy 2015 » 4 Weeks 4 Days: Bleeding *Updated*

4 Weeks 4 Days: Bleeding *Updated*

So I’m hooked up to an IV of intralipids right now, typing on my iPhone with my left hand. The cannula is in my right hand and the expensive mayonnaise is cold as in enters my veins.

Last night my spotting turned into a gush of blood, then stopped overnight. In the morning, I saw some red/brown spotting again, took the dog for a hike in the woods, and then noticed that I had soaked a pad with bright red blood when I got home. I changed my pad, drove to the clinic for my intralipid infusion, and noticed that in the 30 minutes it took to drive there, I soaked a second pad with bright red blood.

I told them about my bleeding, and they took some blood to check my HCG levels again. We should find out the results either later today or tomorrow.

I’m totally freaked out now, as I’m having full on bleeding now, but I’m trying to take things in stride.

Why can’t I just have a drama-free pregnancy??? Universe, why can’t you just cut me a fucking break???

*Update*

So my beta HCG came back at 897. Yesterday it was 643. That’s a doubling time of 60 hours. The doubling time just ONE DAY ago was 32 hours.

My guess is that I may have miscarried a twin, hence the doubled doubling time. We’ll see what happens in the next couple of days. My file has been flagged for the RE to review, but I doubt that there’s anything he can do right now.

I don’t know what to think… I feel like I will be walking on eggshells until we see what’s going on in there (13 days).

This sucks.

86 thoughts on “4 Weeks 4 Days: Bleeding *Updated*

  1. Oh sweetie, this is just not fair. I am PRAYING (and I don’t pray) that this is “just” a hematoma or something like that. Let us know when the HCG results are in. I am thinking of you big time.

  2. I’ve been following your journey and all my prayers are being sent your way. I do want to let you know that I started to bleed heavily at 9.5 weeks. I went to the ER and everything was fine. I didn’t have cramping. The bleeding stopped. But then I kept spotting. I would then have some bright bleeding and then back to spotting. After a week I went to my doctor. She found a polyp and removed it. She said this was the cause. I then spotted for the next 2 weeks. It stopped 2 days ago. Baby is fine. So keep holding tight. Bleeding is so scary but it could be completely disconnected to the pregnancy!!

  3. I am thinking of you. This shouldn’t be happening. You’re not cramping though? That is a good sign. Hoping too it is a hematoma.

  4. I’ve been reading your blog for a little while now, and I want to just tell you that I am keeping you in all my best thoughts and prayers.

  5. You really can’t catch a break. Enough already, Universe. You know already but I’ll say it again: I’m keeping you and your embies in my heart and prayers.

  6. I have been following your journey for quite some time as well, and you and your DW have been an inspiration to me and my DW. It breaks my heart to see how cruel the fertility gods are being to you!!! I hope you are able to keep your hopes up during this hard time, because many times bleeding is benign. However, I wanted to suggest that maybe you also have your progesterone checked and consider PIO (if you are not already). PIO is a literal PITA, but I was glad I had that safety net when we did IVF. Sending warm thoughts from California.

    • Hi there. Thanks for your kind words and advice. They checked my progesterone recently and it was sufficient apparently. We’re you on another form of progesterone before changing to the PIO?

      • Our doctor went the everything but the kitchen sink route – medrol pre-transfer, baby aspirin, estrogen pills 2xday, progesterone suppositories 3xday, and PIO at night through 9 weeks. We were doing reciprocal IVF, so I think this is the standard “surrogate” protocol at our clinic. Not sure if it was all necessary, but it seemed to work.

  7. Oh hon – this must be so scary. It’s never f#*kin ever just plain sailing is it? Sending Aroha from over here. I’ll be thinking of you all day. I’d ask for progesterone supplements. My clinic said they weren’t strictly necessary in my case (when my Prog plummeted but was still just within normal range), but they wouldn’t harm either. Gave me some extra peace of mind. Xx

  8. 13 days! UGH! We can wait it out together as our scan is another 8 days away. I’m sending lots of love and positivity your way. I like your twin theory and think that could be right. If not, let it be something completely unrelated like a polyp! Either way, just let that baby stick and stay!

  9. Ugh. Can they not do an u/s like now??? Not that you want anyone sticking a wand up there right now, but I would want to know what was going on STAT! You are in my thoughts!

    • Thank you. I’m not sure we’d see much right now, is the thing. At least nothing that is actionable. The good thing is that it looks like my HCG is still increasing, which means something is still alive.

  10. Pounding the table in frustration for you. This process just stinks. But,as you say, the hcg is headed in the right direction.

  11. My times went from 26.5 hrs to 32 hrs, to 54 hours. They say the first two are the most accurate and after that the timing slows down a lot. As long as it’s within 72 hour until week 5 it’s fine. Maybe that won’t help but I thought I’d let you know anyway in case you didn’t. I will hold out the faith for you!

  12. Oh my gosh this is so stressful, I’m so sorry that you’re going through this after everything you’ve already been through. I will be thinking about you and sending you love all night.

  13. Ughhhh I hate this early pregnancy drama. I hope for you that this is just something completely unrelated causing the bleed, and the rest of your three trimesters are uneventful and totally Zen. Xx

  14. Oh gosh – that’s a scary amount of blood. You did transfer two didn’t you? It could well be a lost twin. I have to say, the first weeks of pregnancy are right up there with the two week wait for crapness. You have this immediate surge of joy for a positive test and then godawful stress and fear every single minute about what’s going on inside your body once you know. I swear, the days between BFP and early heartbeat scan are almost unbearable. There is nothing any of us can do but hope. Wishing you lots of peace and love while you ride this out. xxx

    • Yes, you are so right. It’s worse than the TWW! In fact, I’ve never made it through over this hurdle to a heartbeat, so it’s particularly frightening. We are pretty sure that I miscarried one yesterday, hence the blood and decreasing beta rate.

  15. Since I saw your post on IG, i have been thinking about you ladies. I’m praying and hoping that it’s nothing major and that it’s something completely unrelated to your pregnancy. Hopefully those numbers are on the rise and everything will be fine…sending you light and love…

Leave a Reply

