Home » Pregnancy 2015 » Dumplin’: 34 Weeks Gestation

Dumplin’: 34 Weeks Gestation

Hola friends! Geeze, it’s been two weeks since my last post. Lots to update you on, but not a lot of time to do it. I’ve been back at work for two weeks now, and I’m loving it. The kids are so polite and well mannered. One even noticed that I had finished my bottle of water and offered to get me another from downstairs in the main office! Sweet teenagers (said no one!), they really are. The school administration was also very kind to me and scheduled all of my classes in the same classroom, so I don’t have far to travel between classes, which is nice. Though, I’m in the opposite wing from the office, so I do have to walk a lot and climb stairs at least four times a day. By about noon, my feet are super swollen and I’m waddling like a duck because my pelvis is so strained. At my midwife appointment on Tuesday, the midwife felt that Dumplin’s head had engaged (dropped lower into my pelvis). I guess that explains the discomfort with walking and sitting! She also told me to start considering going on leave soon, and with each week’s sleep getting worse and discomfort increasing, I’m thinking I will only be able to stick it out for another two weeks or so. I’m so tired that I’m starting to get sleepy driving, which is a huge problem too. 

Here’s this week’s bump picture:

    

Oh, and my belly button is now an outie!

  This past weekend, a wonderful friend hosted our baby shower at her parents’ farm house in the country. It was beautifully decorated, there were fun “game” stations around the room, a photo booth, and she served the yummiest spread of pulled pork sammys, salads, cake, candy, cupcakes, and punch. 

 
  
 We mingled for three hours with our thirty or so guests, and then opened gifts. People were incredibly thoughtful and generous, and we were both in tears at the end when we were giving our thank you speeches. We were so touched by their presence in celebrating Dumplin’ with us.
  Handmade gifts (below):

 We also finished another creative project for Dumplin’s nursery: an Edison bulb antler sconce, which hangs above the glider in our nursing/reading corner. It is so beautiful, and the photo really doesn’t do it justice.

   

 This weekend we will be busy with odds and ends- school work, organizing and washing Dumplin’s new clothes, preparing a hospital bag, and writing thank you cards. 

  

37 thoughts on “Dumplin’: 34 Weeks Gestation

    • Thanks friend! It feels good to dress up these days- somehow makes me feel less yuck. The shower was amazing. Guests keep telling me it was the best shower that they’ve ever been to! I wish you lived closer and could’ve been a part of it too πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! It’s funny you say that because I keep thinking that being at work should make time fly, but it’s actually feeling like it’s dragging lol. Maybe I’m just so anxious for him to be here already!

  1. I could just eat up that fruit tray right now! I highly recommend going off when you can. I’m sticking it out til 37 weeks but I’m SUPER uncomfortable. Lots of pelvic pain. Your shower looked lovely. So many wonderful gifts. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ If I follow my plan of waiting for 2-3 weeks until going off, I will be 37 weeks too. Last night I didn’t sleep at all due to the discomfort. Dumplin’s legs are shoved up under my right ribs and it feels like an intense dull ache, and I can barely roll over because my pelvis hurts so much anytime I separate my legs. Ugh. You know how women complain that they’re “done”? I’m pretty much done. I won’t have another midwife appt for another two weeks though, so I think I’ll have to hold out until then 😦

  2. Oh that does not sound like a comfy time at work! Cute about your students though. πŸ™‚ I must say, photos on here really don’t do that belly justice – I didn’t expect you to be as tall as you are, so the scale of that dumplin’ belly is even more impressive – I can completely understand why you’ve been feeling so much discomfort already! Maybe you’ll get lucky and dumplin will healthily make an earlier appearance. You look great! Xx

    • Aww thanks for the compliments. It’s funny- people often say that I look taller in person. And yes, my belly is way bigger than the pictures can show lol. Colleagues at school keep asking me gently “how are you feeling?”, like they think I’m gonna go into labour immediately… And I wonder if it’s because of the size of my belly haha.

      It was soooo nice to meet you! DW and I felt it was like having dinner with an old friend.

  3. The shower looks wonderful, aren’t those little shoes the cutest, and your belly is awesome. You’re looking so great at 34 weeks, I bet from behind, I couldn’t even tell, you’re that preggo.
    How is your wife and Mochi doing? Everything alright with the littlest one?

    • Thanks! Yes, you totally can’t tell from behind that I’m pregnant. People have commented that I still have my hourglass waist, despite hiding a basketball up front lol.

      DW and Mochi are doing great. My wife is a woman of few words lol, so despite my encouraging her, she won’t do a guest post πŸ™‚ I plan to do their updates on Sunday’s, which is when her weeks change over πŸ™‚

      Thanks for all the love! I hope you and baby N are doing great!

  4. Whoa! 30 to 34 weeks is a big difference in belly shot!! You are really glowing away – you look so well and beautiful. I am so excited for you both – having followed this from the beginning I actually feel quite emotional about it all (and my hormones are making me cry at everything happy right now!). Just lovely – enjoy these last few weeks ❀️

  5. You are rocking this pregnancy thing! I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a perfect pregnant belly.

    I’m so glad your shower was so lovely. It looks like you were showered with love & some pretty awesome gifts!

    Home stretch now! These next couple weeks will fly by as you finish up work. ❀

    • Thanks Linds! I feel like I’ve been blessed with a great pregnancy so far too. I hope the exit plan falls in line with that as well lol. I can see why you did this three times! I’ve never been so blissfully happy as I’ve been carrying Dumplin’. I also love the symbolism in that. The shower was lovely. I’m sorry you two couldn’t make it, but I totally understand. We literally felt showered with love and support… And gifts oh my goodness. I have lots to sort through this weekend.

      Work is starting to drag at the end of this week. I’m struggling to get through the days now…. Won’t be long I think, until I go off.

  6. That sure is a lot of stuff! You all are very blessed with loving and kind friends, but honestly, having gotten to know you this past year, I wouldn’t expect anything less. You look amazing too! That’s a huge difference in a months time! Dumplin’ is really growing, and you’re getting so close! Can’t wait to meet this little guy! And that lamp!!! How do i get my hands on one!?! So awesome! Glad to hear all is well friend…been missing you on here…

    • Aww thanks! You’re sweet. I’m so happy that Dumplin’s gonna be surrounded by so much love too. One of the gifts we got was the book “Mom, Mama, and Me” or something like that- and it reminded me of you two lol. Dumplin must be huge! I hope that means he’ll come early. Yes, we LOVE the lamp too- though we will have to secure the cords better when he is more mobile. Thanks for missing me. I miss you guys too! Hopefully once I’m off work, I’ll have more time to blog!

  7. Oh my goodness! Why am I just seeing this. The antler Edison bulb light is beautiful. But I must ask Where do you find the antler? Lol I love diy nursery decor. We made a beautiful seven foot fabric garland with Leo’s name on it to hang over his crib. It was my absolute favorite.

    • That garland sounds beautiful! My MIL and FIL got the moose antlers from a hunter friend. We’ve had it sitting in our living room for years now, but need to baby proof our house so we needed to get it off the ground lol.

      • Good to know, for some reason I seen antlers and pictured you and your boo hunting all big and pregnant at your cabin. I was like no they didn’t!! Lol it’s beautiful. Good job!!

      • My wife would totally love hunting. Me? Not so much. I don’t like loud noises or being eaten alive by bugs lol. I also don’t know if I could handle the patience required to stalk an animal.

  8. I so enjoy your updates and I am glad, reading through the comments, that DW & Mochi are still going strong! keeping you all in my very best thoughts, especially concerning bumping up your leave!!!

Leave a Reply

